Chromanticore Born of the Gods Ephara's Enlightenment

Ephara, God of the Polis Ephara, God of the Polis English

Legendary Enchantment Creature — God 6/5, 2WU (4)

Indestructible

As long as your devotion to white and blue is less than seven, Ephara isn't a creature.

At the beginning of each upkeep, if you had another creature enter the battlefield under your control last turn, draw a card.

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
  • 9/15/2013: If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it's still on the battlefield at that time.
  • 9/15/2013: The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It's always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.
  • 9/15/2013: The abilities of Gods function as long as they're on the battlefield, regardless of whether they're creatures.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won't matter because it has indestructible.)
  • 2/1/2014: Ephara's last ability checks at the beginning of each upkeep whether another creature entered the battlefield under your control last turn. If one did, it will trigger; otherwise, it won't. The ability will trigger only once no matter how many creatures entered the battlefield under your control that turn, as long as at least one did.
  • 2/1/2014: The last ability will trigger regardless of what has happened to the creature that entered the battlefield on the previous turn. It doesn't matter whether it's still under your control or whether it's still on the battlefield.
  • 2/1/2014: If a noncreature permanent you control (such as an Aura with bestow) becomes a creature, it will not cause Ephara's last ability to trigger the following turn. This is true even if that noncreature permanent became a creature the same turn it entered the battlefield.
Printings:
#145 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Ephara, Göttin der Polis
French Éphara, déesse de la Polis
Italian Efara, Dea della Polis
Spanish Efara, diosa de la polis
Portuguese Efara, Deusa da Pólis
Japanese 都市国家の神、エファラ
Simplified Chinese 城邦神厄芳拉
Russian Эфара, Богиня Полиса
Traditional Chinese 城邦神厄芳拉
Korean 폴리스의 신 에파라


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Ephara, God of the Polis
View Decks with Ephara, God of the Polis
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.