Felhide Spiritbinder Born of the Gods Forgestoker Dragon

Flame-Wreathed Phoenix Flame-Wreathed Phoenix English

Creature — Phoenix 3/3, 2RR (4)

Flying

Tribute 2 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may put two +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Flame-Wreathed Phoenix enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, it gains haste and "When this creature dies, return it to its owner's hand."

Illus. James Ryman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2014: If the opponent pays tribute, the creature will enter the battlefield with the specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. It won't enter the battlefield and then have the +1/+1 counters placed on it.
  • 2/1/2014: The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it's too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won't know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.
  • 2/1/2014: If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.
  • 2/1/2014: Players can't respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn't pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.
  • 2/1/2014: The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn't on the battlefield at that time.
  • 4/18/2017: For effects that check which player put counters on the entering creature, the player chosen to pay tribute puts those counters on it, not the creature's controller.
Printings:
#97 (James Ryman)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Flammenumhüllter Phoenix
French Phénix nimbé de flammes
Italian Fenice della Spirale Infuocata
Spanish Fénix envuelto en llamas
Portuguese Fênix do Manto Flamejante
Japanese 炎輪のフェニックス
Simplified Chinese 覆火凤凰
Russian Охваченный Пламенем Феникс
Traditional Chinese 覆火鳳凰
Korean 화염갈기 불사조


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Flame-Wreathed Phoenix
View Decks with Flame-Wreathed Phoenix
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.