Plains Duel Decks: Kiora vs. Elspeth Accumulated Knowledge

Kiora, the Crashing Wave Kiora, the Crashing Wave English

Legendary Planeswalker — Kiora (Loyalty: 2), 2UG (4)

+1: Until your next turn, prevent all damage that would be dealt to and dealt by target permanent an opponent controls.

−1: Draw a card. You may play an additional land this turn.

−5: You get an emblem with "At the beginning of your end step, create a 9/9 blue Kraken creature token."

Illus. Tyler Jacobson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2014: Kiora's first ability can target any permanent an opponent controls, not just one that can deal or be dealt damage.
  • 2/1/2014: Once the first ability resolves, the damage prevention continues to apply even if that permanent changes controllers.
  • 2/1/2014: Kiora's second ability allows you to play an additional land during your main phase. Doing so follows the normal timing rules for playing lands. In particular, you won't play a land as that ability resolves. The ability will fully resolve (and you'll draw a card, perhaps a land you'll play later) first.
  • 2/1/2014: The effect of the second ability is cumulative with other effects that let you play additional lands, such as the one from Rites of Flourishing.
  • 2/1/2014: If Kiora leaves the battlefield after her second ability is activated but before it resolves, you'll still be able to play an additional land after the ability resolves.
Printings:
#34 (Tyler Jacobson)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Kiora vs. Elspeth (Mythic Rare)
English Born of the Gods (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Kiora, die brandende Welle
French Kiora, la Déferlante
Italian Kiora della Grande Onda
Spanish Kiora, la ola rompiente
Portuguese Kiora, a Onda que Arrebenta
Japanese 荒ぶる波濤、キオーラ
Simplified Chinese 破浪奇奥拉
Russian Киора, Разбивающаяся Волна
Traditional Chinese 破浪奇奧拉
Korean 거친 파도의 키오라


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Kiora, the Crashing Wave
View Decks with Kiora, the Crashing Wave
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.