Endbringer Oath of the Gatewatch Kozilek's Pathfinder

Kozilek, the Great Distortion Kozilek, the Great Distortion English

Legendary Creature — Eldrazi 12/12, 8CC (10)

When you cast Kozilek, the Great Distortion, if you have fewer than seven cards in hand, draw cards equal to the difference.

Menace

Discard a card with converted mana cost X: Counter target spell with converted mana cost X.

A void as cryptic as reality itself.

Illus. Aleksi Briclot

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2016: Kozilek's triggered ability checks to see if you have fewer than seven cards in hand when you cast it. Kozilek is on the stack at this time and not in your hand. If you don't, the ability won't trigger at all. If the ability does trigger, it will check again as it tries to resolve. If you have seven or more cards in hand at that time, the ability won't do anything.
  • 1/22/2016: To activate the last ability, there must be a legal target: a spell on the stack. That target will determine the value of X and the converted mana cost of the card you discard. You can't activate the ability unless you can match the converted mana cost of a spell on the stack to that of a card in your hand.
  • 1/22/2016: The converted mana cost of a spell doesn't change, even if it's been cast using an alternative cost (such as an awaken cost). For example, the converted mana cost of a Sheer Drop (a spell with mana cost {2}{W}) that's been cast for its awaken cost of {5}{W} is 3.
  • 1/22/2016: If there's an {X} in the mana cost of the card you discard, that X is 0. Any {X} in the mana cost of the target spell will have whatever value was determined for it as the spell was cast.
Printings:
#4 (Aleksi Briclot)

Editions:
English Oath of the Gatewatch (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Kozilek, Verzerrung der Realität
French Kozilek, la Grande Distorsion
Italian Kozilek, la Grande Distorsione
Spanish Kozilek, la Gran Distorsión
Portuguese Kozilek, a Grande Distorção
Japanese 大いなる歪み、コジレック
Simplified Chinese 无际曲相寇基雷
Russian Козилек, Великое Искажение
Traditional Chinese 無際曲相寇基雷
Korean 거대한 왜곡 코질렉


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Kozilek, the Great Distortion
View Decks with Kozilek, the Great Distortion
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.