Oracle of Bones Born of the Gods Pinnacle of Rage

Pharagax Giant Pharagax Giant English

Creature — Giant 3/3, 4R (5)

Tribute 2 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may put two +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Pharagax Giant enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, Pharagax Giant deals 5 damage to each opponent.

Illus. Ryan Pancoast

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2014: If the opponent pays tribute, the creature will enter the battlefield with the specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. It won't enter the battlefield and then have the +1/+1 counters placed on it.
  • 2/1/2014: The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it's too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won't know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.
  • 2/1/2014: If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.
  • 2/1/2014: Players can't respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn't pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.
  • 2/1/2014: The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn't on the battlefield at that time.
  • 4/18/2017: For effects that check which player put counters on the entering creature, the player chosen to pay tribute puts those counters on it, not the creature's controller.
Printings:
#104 (Ryan Pancoast)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Common)

Languages:
German Pharagax-Riese
French Géant de Pharagax
Italian Gigante di Faragax
Spanish Gigante de Faragax
Portuguese Gigante de Faragax
Japanese ファラガックスの巨人
Simplified Chinese 法拉伽斯巨人
Russian Гигант из Фарагакса
Traditional Chinese 法拉伽斯巨人
Korean 파라각스 거인


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Pharagax Giant
View Decks with Pharagax Giant
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.