Arcanis the Omnipotent Onslaught Ascending Aven

Artificial Evolution Artificial Evolution English

Instant, U (1)

Change the text of target spell or permanent by replacing all instances of one creature type with another. The new creature type can't be Wall. (This effect lasts indefinitely.)

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If a creature's creature type has been changed by a spell or ability, changing the card's text won't affect or alter the new creature type.
  • 10/4/2004: Alters all occurrences of the chosen word in the text box and the type line of the given card.
  • 10/4/2004: Can target a card with no appropriate words on it, or even one with no words at all.
  • 10/4/2004: It can't change a word to the same word. It must be a different word.
  • 10/4/2004: It only changes what is printed on the card (or set on a token when it was created or set by a copy effect). It will not change any effects that are on the permanent.
  • 10/4/2004: You choose the words to change on resolution.
  • 10/4/2004: You can't change proper nouns (i.e. card names) such as “Island Fish Jasconius”.
  • 10/4/2004: Changing the text of a spell will not allow you to change the targets of the spell because the targets were chosen when the spell was cast. The text change will (probably) cause it to be countered since the targets will be illegal.
  • 10/4/2004: If you change the text of a spell which is to become a permanent, the permanent will retain the text change until the effect wears off.
#67 (Greg Staples)

English Onslaught (Rare)

German Künstliche Entwicklung
French Évolution artificielle
Italian Evoluzione Artificiale
Spanish Evolución artificial
Portuguese Evolução Artificial

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Artificial Evolution
View Decks with Artificial Evolution
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.