Cancel Khans of Tarkir Crippling Chill

Clever Impersonator Clever Impersonator English

Creature — Shapeshifter 0/0, 2UU (4)

You may have Clever Impersonator enter the battlefield as a copy of any nonland permanent on the battlefield.

"Our own selves are the greatest obstacles to enlightenment."
—Narset, khan of the Jeskai

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2014: You choose which nonland permanent Clever Impersonator will copy, if any, as it enters the battlefield. This doesn't target that nonland permanent.
  • 9/20/2014: Remember that if you control more than one legendary permanent with the same name, you'll choose one to remain on the battlefield and put the rest into their owner's graveyard.
  • 9/20/2014: If Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield as a copy of a planeswalker, it will enter the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the loyalty printed in the lower right corner of the planeswalker card. It won't copy the number of loyalty counters on the original planeswalker.
  • 9/20/2014: Clever Impersonator copies exactly what is printed on the chosen permanent (unless that permanent is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether that permanent is tapped or untapped, whether that permanent has any counters on it or any Auras and/or Equipment attached to it, and it doesn't copy any non-copy effects that have changed that permanent's power, toughness, types, color, abilities, or so on.
  • 9/20/2014: If the chosen permanent has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
  • 9/20/2014: If the chosen permanent is a copy of something else (for example, if the chosen permanent is another Clever Impersonator), then your Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen permanent copied.
  • 9/20/2014: If the chosen permanent is a token, Clever Impersonator copies the original characteristics of that token as defined by the effect that put that token onto the battlefield. Clever Impersonator is not a token.
  • 9/20/2014: Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the chosen permanent will trigger when Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield. Any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the chosen permanent will also work.
  • 9/20/2014: If Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield at the same time as another permanent, it can't become a copy of that permanent. You may choose only a nonland permanent that's already on the battlefield.
  • 9/20/2014: You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature, and it's put into the graveyard immediately (unless something is raising its toughness above 0).
Printings:
#34 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Khans of Tarkir (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Durchtriebener Nachahmer
French Imitateur rusé
Italian Impostore Scaltro
Spanish Impostor sagaz
Portuguese Personificador Astuto
Japanese 賢いなりすまし
Simplified Chinese 机敏冒名客
Russian Умелый Подражатель
Traditional Chinese 機敏冒名客
Korean 영리한 흉내꾼


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Clever Impersonator
View Decks with Clever Impersonator
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.