Extras (Plane): The Dark Barony
next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-79 ] 79 cards

Adarkar Sentinel Adarkar Sentinel English

Artifact Creature — Soldier 3/3, 5 (5)

{1}: Adarkar Sentinel gets +0/+1 until end of turn.

"We encountered the Sentinels in the wastes, near no living thing. Their purpose was inscrutable."
—Disa the Restless, journal entry

Illus. Melissa Benson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#281 (Melissa Benson)

English Ice Age (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

German Adarkarwächter
French Sentinelle adarkare
Italian Sentinella di Adarkar
Spanish Centinela de Adarkar
Portuguese Sentinela de Adarkar

all prints in all languages

Adarkar Unicorn Adarkar Unicorn English

Creature — Unicorn 2/2, 1WW (3)

{T}: Add {U} or {C}{U} to your mana pool. Spend this mana only to pay cumulative upkeep costs.

"There is no nobler creature in all of Terisiare."
—General Jarkeld, the Arctic Fox

Illus. Quinton Hoover

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#225 (Quinton Hoover)

English Ice Age (Common)

German Adarkareinhorn
French Licorne adarkare
Italian Unicorno dell'Adarkar
Spanish Unicornio de Adarkar
Portuguese Unicórnio de Adarkar

all prints in all languages

Adarkar Valkyrie Adarkar Valkyrie English

Snow Creature — Angel 4/5, 4WW (6)

Flying, vigilance

{T}: When target creature other than Adarkar Valkyrie dies this turn, return that card to the battlefield under your control.

She doesn't escort the dead to the afterlife, but instead raises them to fight and die again.

Illus. Jeremy Jarvis

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/15/2006: Adarkar Valkyrie’s ability can target a token creature, but since token creatures cease to exist when they leave the battlefield, it won’t be returned to the battlefield.
#63 (Jeremy Jarvis)

English Commander 2014 Edition (Rare)
English Modern Masters (Rare)
English Coldsnap (Rare)

German Adarkarwalküre
French Valkyrie d'Adarkar
Italian Valchiria dell'Adarkar
Spanish Valkiria de Adarkar
Portuguese Valquíria de Adarkar
Japanese アダーカーの戦乙女
Simplified Chinese 阿达卡女武神
Russian Адаркарская валькирия

all prints in all languages

Adarkar Wastes Adarkar Wastes English


{T}: Add {C} to your mana pool.

{T}: Add {W} or {U} to your mana pool. Adarkar Wastes deals 1 damage to you.

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#347 (John Avon)

English Tenth Edition (Rare)
English Ninth Edition (Rare)
English Seventh Edition (Rare)
English Classic Sixth Edition (Rare)
English Fifth Edition (Rare)
English Ice Age (Rare)

German Adarkarwüste
French Landes d'Adarkar
Italian Distese dell'Adarkar
Spanish Yermos de Adarkar
Portuguese Regiões Agrestes de Adarkar
Japanese アダーカー荒原
Simplified Chinese 阿达卡荒野
Russian Адаркарские Пустоши
Traditional Chinese 阿達卡荒野

all prints in all languages

Adarkar Windform Adarkar Windform English

Snow Creature — Illusion 3/3, 4U (5)


{1}{S}: Target creature loses flying until end of turn. ({S} can be paid with one mana from a snow permanent.)

Terisiare has only two kinds of weather: cold and weird.

Illus. Randy Gallegos

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#26 (Randy Gallegos)

English Coldsnap (Uncommon)

German Adarkarwindgestalt
French Venteforme d'Adarkar
Italian Ventiforme dell'Adarkar
Spanish Eolomorfo de Adarkar
Portuguese Pé-de-Vento de Adarkar
Japanese アダーカーの風精
Simplified Chinese 阿达卡风影
Russian Адаркарская ветровица

all prints in all languages

Cast into Darkness Cast into Darkness English

Enchantment — Aura, 1B (2)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets -2/-0 and can't block.

In desperation the soldier prayed to Phenax, begging for the power to cheat the gorgon's gaze.

Illus. Clint Cearley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#63 (Clint Cearley)

English Journey into Nyx (Common)

German In die Dunkelheit
French Projeter dans les ténèbres
Italian Gettare nell'Oscurità
Spanish Lanzar hacia las tinieblas
Portuguese Lançar na Escuridão
Japanese 闇への投入
Simplified Chinese 没入黑暗
Russian Низвержение во Тьму
Traditional Chinese 沒入黑暗
Korean 암흑에 빠지다

all prints in all languages

Clinging Darkness Clinging Darkness English

Enchantment — Aura, 1B (2)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets -4/-1.

There's an experience worse than blindness—it's the certainty that your vision is perfect and the horror that there's no world around you to see.

Illus. Glen Angus

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#80 (Glen Angus)

English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Common)

German Anhaftende Dunkelheit
French Obscurité tenace
Italian Oscurità Avvolgente
Spanish Oscuridad persistente
Portuguese Escuridão Pegajosa
Japanese すがりつく闇
Simplified Chinese 黑暗紧缠
Russian Звенящая тьма

all prints in all languages

Cover of Darkness Cover of Darkness English

Enchantment, 1B (2)

As Cover of Darkness enters the battlefield, choose a creature type.

Creatures of the chosen type have fear. (They can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

Illus. Kev Walker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#133 (Kev Walker)

English Onslaught (Rare)

German Tarnung der Dunkelheit
French Couverture de ténèbres
Italian Favore delle Tenebre
Spanish Amparo de la oscuridad
Portuguese Cobertura de Escuridão

all prints in all languages

Crow of Dark Tidings Crow of Dark Tidings English

Creature — Zombie Bird 2/1, 2B (3)


When Crow of Dark Tidings enters the battlefield or dies, put the top two cards of your library into your graveyard.

Illus. Tianhua X

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/8/2016: The triggered ability triggers both when Crow of Dark Tidings enters the battlefield and when it dies. You don’t have to choose only one.
#105 (Tianhua X)

English Shadows over Innistrad (Common)

German Unheilverkündende Krähe
French Corbeau de mauvais augure
Italian Corvo degli Oscuri Presagi
Spanish Cuervo de sombríos augurios
Portuguese Corvo das Notícias Sombrias
Japanese 闇告げカラス
Simplified Chinese 暗潮乌鸦
Russian Ворон Злых Вестей
Traditional Chinese 暗潮烏鴉
Korean 흉보를 전하는 까마귀

all prints in all languages

Dark Banishing Dark Banishing English

Instant, 2B (3)

Destroy target nonblack creature. It can't be regenerated.

"It is the way of most wizards to begin by exiling themselves and to end by exiling everyone else."
—Hanna, Weatherlight navigator

Illus. John Matson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?



#92 (John Matson)

English Tempest Remastered (Common)
English Duel Decks Anthology: Divine vs. Demonic (Common)
English Duel Decks: Divine vs. Demonic (Common)
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Ninth Edition (Common)
English Eighth Edition (Common)
English Deckmasters (Special)
English Seventh Edition (Common)
English Tempest (Common)
English Mirage (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

German Dunkle Verbannung
French Obscur bannissement
Italian Esilio Oscuro
Spanish Destierro sombrío
Portuguese Banimento Sombrio
Japanese 闇への追放
Simplified Chinese 黯境放逐
Russian Темное изгнание
Traditional Chinese 闇境放逐
Korean 암흑의 유형

all prints in all languages

Dark Betrayal Dark Betrayal English

Instant, B (1)

Destroy target black creature.

"You're just like me: ruthless, cunning, and ambitious. Obviously you're a threat."
—Basarios the Blade

Illus. Nils Hamm

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#83 (Nils Hamm)

English Theros (Uncommon)

German Dunkler Verrat
French Obscure trahison
Italian Tradimento Oscuro
Spanish Traición oscura
Portuguese Traição Sombria
Japanese 闇の裏切り
Simplified Chinese 邪恶背叛
Russian Темное Предательство
Traditional Chinese 邪惡背叛
Korean 사악한 배신

all prints in all languages

Dark Confidant Dark Confidant English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/1, 1B (2)

At the beginning of your upkeep, reveal the top card of your library and put that card into your hand. You lose life equal to its converted mana cost.

Greatness, at any cost.

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#75 (Scott M. Fischer)

English Modern Masters 2015 Edition (Mythic Rare)
English Modern Masters (Mythic Rare)
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Rare)
English Judge Gift Program (Special)

German Dunkler Mitwisser
French Obscur confident
Italian Confidente Oscuro
Spanish Confidente oscuro
Portuguese Confidente Sombrio
Japanese 闇の腹心
Simplified Chinese 黑暗亲信
Russian Темный наперсник

all prints in all languages

Dark Dabbling Dark Dabbling English

Instant, 2B (3)

Regenerate target creature. Draw a card. (The next time the creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat.)

Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, also regenerate each other creature you control.

Illus. Bastien L. Deharme

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: You draw a card as Dark Dabbling resolves, not as the creature actually regenerates.
  • 6/22/2015: Whether the spell mastery applies or not, Dark Dabbling targets only one creature. If that creature becomes an illegal target by the time Dark Dabbling tries to resolve, Dark Dabbling will be countered and none of its effects will happen. No creature will regenerate and you won’t draw a card.
  • 6/22/2015: Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won’t count because it’s still on the stack as you make this check.
#89 (Bastien L. Deharme)

English Magic Origins (Common)

German Düstere Experimentierfreude
French Obscure expérimentation
Italian Oscuro Diletto
Spanish Experimentos oscuros
Portuguese Experimentação Sombria
Japanese 闇の試み
Simplified Chinese 暗法小试
Russian Темное Орошение
Traditional Chinese 暗法小試
Korean 음험한 시도

all prints in all languages

Dark Deal Dark Deal English

Sorcery, 2B (3)

Each player discards all the cards in his or her hand, then draws that many cards minus one.

The first khans of the Sultai relied on the magic of the rakshasa to ensure the survival of the clan.

Illus. Scott Murphy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/24/2014: If a player had one card or no cards in his or her hand, that player won’t draw any cards.
#66 (Scott Murphy)

English Fate Reforged (Uncommon)

German Dunkler Handel
French Obscure transaction
Italian Patto Oscuro
Spanish Pacto oscuro
Portuguese Negócio Escuso
Japanese 闇取引
Simplified Chinese 黑暗交易
Russian Зловещий Договор
Traditional Chinese 黑暗交易
Korean 암거래

all prints in all languages

Dark Depths Dark Depths English

Legendary Snow Land

Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it.

{3}: Remove an ice counter from Dark Depths.

When Dark Depths has no ice counters on it, sacrifice it. If you do, create a legendary 20/20 black Avatar creature token with flying and indestructible named Marit Lage.

Illus. Stephan Martiniere

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/15/2006: Dark Depths is a land with no mana ability.
  • 7/15/2006: Dark Depths’s last ability is a state trigger. It will not trigger again while the ability is on the stack, but if the ability is countered and Dark Depths is still on the battlefield with no ice counters on it, it will trigger again immediately.
  • Banned in Modern
#4 (Stephan Martiniere)

English From the Vault: Lore (Mythic Rare)
English Coldsnap (Rare)

German Dunkle Tiefen
French Profondeurs obscures
Italian Profondità Oscure
Spanish Abismos oscuros
Portuguese Abismo Sombrio
Japanese 暗黒の深部
Simplified Chinese 黑暗深渊
Russian Темные пучины

all prints in all languages

Dark Favor Dark Favor English

Enchantment — Aura, 1B (2)

Enchant creature

When Dark Favor enters the battlefield, you lose 1 life.

Enchanted creature gets +3/+1.

When he began to curse what he held holy, his strength grew unrivaled.

Illus. Allen Williams

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: If the creature targeted by Dark Favor is an illegal target when Dark Favor tries to resolve, Dark Favor will be countered. It won’t enter the battlefield and its enters-the-battlefield ability won’t trigger.
#92 (Allen Williams)

English Magic 2014 Core Set (Common)
English Magic 2013 (Common)
English Magic 2012 (Common)

German Dunkle Gunst
French Obscure faveur
Italian Benevolenza Oscura
Spanish Favor oscuro
Portuguese Proteção Sombria
Japanese 闇の好意
Simplified Chinese 黑暗眷顾
Russian Темное Покровительство
Traditional Chinese 黑暗眷顧
Korean 악의 은혜

all prints in all languages

Dark Hatchling Dark Hatchling English

Creature — Horror 3/3, 4BB (6)


When Dark Hatchling enters the battlefield, destroy target nonblack creature. It can't be regenerated.

Illus. Brad Rigney

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#32 (Brad Rigney)

English Planechase Anthology (Rare)
English Vintage Masters (Uncommon)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Rare)
English Commander (Rare)
English Urza's Saga (Rare)

German Dunkle Brut
French Couvée ténébreuse
Italian Cucciolo Oscuro
Spanish Cría siniestra
Portuguese Cria das Trevas
Japanese 暗黒の雛

all prints in all languages

Dark Heart of the Wood Dark Heart of the Wood English

Enchantment, BG (2)

Sacrifice a Forest: You gain 3 life.

"The soil here is rich with the rotting dead, and the sun's fingers barely penetrate the dark canopy. Plant our brethren here. This shall be our sanctuary."

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#200 (Mark Tedin)

English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Uncommon)
English The Dark (Common (C3))

German Dunkles Herz des Waldes
French Cœur noir du bois
Italian Cuore Tenebroso del Bosco
Spanish Corazón oscuro del bosque
Portuguese Coração Sombrio da Floresta
Japanese 森の暗き中心
Simplified Chinese 密林黯心
Russian Темное сердце леса

all prints in all languages

Dark Impostor Dark Impostor English

Creature — Vampire Assassin 2/2, 2B (3)

{4}{B}{B}: Exile target creature and put a +1/+1 counter on Dark Impostor.

Dark Impostor has all activated abilities of all creature cards exiled with it.

"Ah, this is a nice life. I can see why you were so desperate to keep it."

Illus. Johannes Voss

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: Dark Impostor gains only activated abilities. It doesn’t gain triggered abilities or static abilities. Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keywords are activated abilities; they have colons in their reminder text.
  • 5/1/2012: If an activated ability of a card in exile references the card it’s printed on by name, treat Dark Impostor’s version of that ability as though it referenced Dark Impostor by name instead. For example, if Marrow Bats (which says “Pay 4 life: Regenerate Marrow Bats”) is exiled with Dark Impostor, Dark Impostor has the ability “Pay 4 life: Regenerate Dark Impostor.”
  • 5/1/2012: Dark Impostor can target and exile a permanent that’s only a creature temporarily, like an animated land. However, because that card isn’t a creature card, Dark Impostor won’t have any of that card’s activated abilities.
  • 5/1/2012: If you control more than one Dark Impostor, each will have only the activated abilities of creature cards exiled with that specific Dark Impostor.
  • 5/1/2012: Once Dark Impostor leaves the battlefield, it will no longer have the activated abilities of the creature cards exiled with it. If it returns to the battlefield, it will be a new Dark Impostor with no connection to those exiled cards.
#109 (Johannes Voss)

English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Avacyn Restored (Rare)

German Dunkle Hochstaplerin
French Obscur imposteur
Italian Ingannatrice Oscura
Spanish Impostora oscura
Portuguese Impostor Sombrio
Japanese 闇の詐称者
Simplified Chinese 黑暗冒名客
Russian Темный Самозванец
Traditional Chinese 黑暗冒名客
Korean 사악한 흉내꾼

all prints in all languages

Dark Intimations Dark Intimations English

Sorcery, 2UBR (5)

Each opponent sacrifices a creature or planeswalker, then discards a card. You return a creature or planeswalker card from your graveyard to your hand, then draw a card.

When you cast a Bolas planeswalker spell, exile Dark Intimations from your graveyard. That planeswalker enters the battlefield with an additional loyalty counter on it.

Illus. Chase Stone

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: When Dark Intimations resolves, first the player whose turn it is (if that player is an opponent) chooses which creature or planeswalker he or she will sacrifice, then each other opponent in turn order does the same, then all chosen permanents are sacrificed at the same time. Then each opponent in the same order chooses a card in his or her hand without revealing it, then all chosen cards are discarded at the same time.
  • 2/9/2017: Each opponent chooses a permanent to sacrifice from among the creatures and planeswalkers that player controls. You don’t choose which type of permanent the player has to sacrifice.
  • 2/9/2017: If an opponent can’t sacrifice a creature or planeswalker, that player still discards a card if able. You still return a creature or planeswalker card to your hand if able, even if no opponent sacrifices a permanent and/or discards a card. You still draw a card even if you can’t return a card to your hand.
  • 2/9/2017: You choose the creature or planeswalker card to return to your hand while Dark Intimations is resolving. No player may take actions between the time you choose one and the time you put it into your hand.
  • 2/9/2017: If two or more Dark Intimations are in your graveyard when you cast a Bolas planeswalker spell, you’ll exile each of them and that planeswalker will enter the battlefield with that many additional loyalty counters.
  • 2/9/2017: The draconic Planeswalker Nicol Bolas is not featured in the Aether Revolt set. He must be up to something nefarious elsewhere.
  • 7/14/2017: There are many important moments in the story, but the most crucial—called “story spotlights”—are shown on cards. You can read more about these events in the official Magic fiction at http://www.mtgstory.com.
#128 (Chase Stone)

English Aether Revolt (Rare)

German Dunkle Vorzeichen
French Obscures suggestions
Italian Oscuri Segnali
Spanish Indicios oscuros
Portuguese Intimações Sombrias
Japanese 闇の暗示
Simplified Chinese 黑暗预示
Russian Мрачные Намеки
Traditional Chinese 黑暗預示
Korean 사악한 암시

all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-79 ] 79 cards

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.