Inspiring Call Dragons of Tarkir Naturalize

Lurking Arynx Lurking Arynx English

Creature — Cat Beast 3/5, 4G (5)

Formidable — {2}{G}: Target creature blocks Lurking Arynx this turn if able. Activate this ability only if creatures you control have total power 8 or greater.

Once it has your scent, it will hunt you from the Gurmag Swamp to Ayagor.

Illus. Carl Frank

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/25/2015: You may activate Lurking Arynx's ability multiple times in a turn to force multiple creatures to block it if able.
  • 2/25/2015: Activating Lurking Arynx's ability doesn't force you to attack with it that turn. If it doesn't attack, the creatures affected by its ability can block other attacking creatures or not block at all.
  • 2/25/2015: If a creature affected by Lurking Arynx's ability can't legally block it (perhaps because Lurking Arynx has gained flying), that creature can block other attacking creatures or not block at all.
  • 2/25/2015: If, during the declare blockers step, a creature is tapped or is affected by a spell or ability that says it can't block, it doesn't block. If there's a cost associated with having a creature block, its controller isn't forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to block in that case either.
  • 2/25/2015: If you control a creature with power less than 0, use its actual power when calculating the total power of creatures you control. For example, if you control three creatures with powers 4, 5, and -2, the total power of creatures you control is 7.
  • 2/25/2015: Some formidable abilities are activated abilities that require creatures you control to have total power 8 or greater. Once you activate these abilities, it doesn't matter what happens to the total power of creatures you control.
  • 2/25/2015: Other formidable abilities are triggered abilities with an “intervening ‘if'” clause. Such abilities check the total power of creatures you control twice: once at the appropriate time to see if the ability will trigger, and again as the ability tries to resolve. If, at that time, the total power of creatures you control is no longer 8 or greater, the ability will have no effect.
Printings:
#192 (Carl Frank)

Editions:
English Dragons of Tarkir (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Lauernder Arynx
French Arynx en maraude
Italian Arynx in Agguato
Spanish Árynx furtiva
Portuguese Arynx Espreitadora
Japanese 隠れ潜むエイリンクス
Simplified Chinese 伏击猛猁
Russian Охотящийся Аринкс
Traditional Chinese 伏擊猛猁
Korean 잠복한 아린크스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Lurking Arynx
View Decks with Lurking Arynx
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.