Palace Familiar Dragons of Tarkir Qarsi Deceiver

Profaner of the Dead Profaner of the Dead English

Creature — Naga Wizard 3/3, 3U (4)

Exploit (When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.)

When Profaner of the Dead exploits a creature, return to their owners' hands all creatures your opponents control with toughness less than the exploited creature's toughness.

Illus. Vincent Proce

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/25/2015: Use the toughness of the exploited creature as it last existed on the battlefield to determine which creatures to return to their owners' hands.
  • 2/25/2015: A creature with exploit “exploits a creature” when the controller of the exploit ability sacrifices a creature as that ability resolves.
  • 2/25/2015: You choose whether to sacrifice a creature and which creature to sacrifice as the exploit ability resolves.
  • 2/25/2015: You can sacrifice the creature with exploit if it's still on the battlefield. This will cause its other ability to trigger.
  • 2/25/2015: If the creature with exploit isn't on the battlefield as the exploit ability resolves, you won't get any bonus from the creature with exploit, even if you sacrifice a creature. Because the creature with exploit isn't on the battlefield, its other triggered ability won't trigger.
  • 2/25/2015: You can't sacrifice more than one creature to any one exploit ability.
#70 (Vincent Proce)

English Dragons of Tarkir (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

German Entweiherin der Toten
French Profanateur des morts
Italian Profanatrice dei Morti
Spanish Profanadora de los muertos
Portuguese Profanador dos Mortos
Japanese 死者を冒涜するもの
Simplified Chinese 扰亡师
Russian Осквернитель Мертвецов
Traditional Chinese 擾亡師
Korean 망자 모독인

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Profaner of the Dead
View Decks with Profaner of the Dead
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.