next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] 80 cards

Adarkar Sentinel Adarkar Sentinel English

Artifact Creature — Soldier 3/3, 5 (5)

{1}: Adarkar Sentinel gets +0/+1 until end of turn.

"We encountered the sentinels in the wastes, near no living thing. Their purpose was inscrutable."
—Disa the Restless, journal entry

Illus. Melissa A. Benson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#201 (Melissa A. Benson)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Adarkarwächter
French Sentinelle adarkare
Italian Sentinella di Adarkar
Spanish Centinela de Adarkar
Portuguese Sentinela de Adarkar


all prints in all languages


Aeolipile Aeolipile English

Artifact, 2 (2)

{1}, {T}, Sacrifice Aeolipile: Aeolipile deals 2 damage to target creature or player.

"Although fragile, the aeolipile could be quite destructive."
—Sarpadian Empires, vol. I

Illus. Heather Hudson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#202 (Heather Hudson)

Editions:
English Fallen Empires (Rare (U1))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages


Ambush Party Ambush Party English

Creature — Human Rogue 3/1, 4R (5)

First strike, haste

"Fair fight? I'll take survival over chivalry any day!"
—Tor Wauki, Bandit King

Illus. Charles Gillespie

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#115 (Charles Gillespie)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Homelands (Common (C2))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Lauernde Räuber
French Escarmoucheurs
Italian Banda di Assalitori
Spanish Banda emboscada
Portuguese Grupo de Emboscada


all prints in all languages


Armor of Faith Armor of Faith English

Enchantment — Aura, W (1)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +1/+1.

{W}: Enchanted creature gets +0/+1 until end of turn.

"Keep your chainmail, warrior. I have my own form of protection."
—Halvor Arenson, Kjeldoran priest

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#4 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Rüstung des Glaubens
French Armure de foi
Italian Corazza della Fede
Spanish Armadura de fe
Portuguese Armadura de Fé


all prints in all languages


Armor Thrull Armor Thrull English

Creature — Thrull 1/3, 2B (3)

{T}, Sacrifice Armor Thrull: Put a +1/+2 counter on target creature.

"The worst thing about being a mercenary for the Ebon Hand is having to wear a dead thrull."
—Ivra Jursdotter

Illus. Pete Venters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#77 (Pete Venters)

Editions:
English Fallen Empires (Common (C1))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages


Armored Griffin Armored Griffin English

Creature — Griffin 2/3, 3W (4)

Flying, vigilance

Illus. Bradley Williams

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#5 (Bradley Williams)

Editions:
English Planechase Anthology (Uncommon)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Uncommon)
English Portal Second Age (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Gepanzerter Greif
French Griffon cuirassé
Italian Grifone Corazzato
Spanish Grifo acorazado
Portuguese [missing]
Japanese 鎧のグリフィン


all prints in all languages


Aurochs Aurochs English

Creature — Aurochs 2/3, 3G (4)

Trample

Whenever Aurochs attacks, it gets +1/+0 until end of turn for each other attacking Aurochs.

One aurochs may feed a village, but a herd will flatten it.

Illus. Ken Meyer, Jr.

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The bonus is not applied until after you check for attack legality, so it is a 2/3 creature when declaring attackers.
  • 10/1/2009: The ability counts the number of attacking creatures with the creature type Aurochs, not just those named Aurochs.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#153 (Ken Meyer, Jr.)

Editions:
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Auerochse
French Aurochs
Italian Uri
Spanish Uro
Portuguese Auroques


all prints in all languages


Aysen Bureaucrats Aysen Bureaucrats English

Creature — Human Advisor 1/1, 1W (2)

{T}: Tap target creature with power 2 or less.

"I would say that our bureaucrats are no better than vipers—but I shouldn't insult the vipers."
—Murat, death speaker

Illus. Alan Rabinowitz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This checks the power of the creature on activation and on resolution.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#6 (Alan Rabinowitz)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Homelands (Common (C2))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Aysenischer Bürokrat
French Bureaucrates ayséniens
Italian Burocrati di Aysen
Spanish Burócratas de Aysen
Portuguese Burocratas de Aysen


all prints in all languages


Balduvian Conjurer Balduvian Conjurer English

Creature — Human Wizard 0/2, 1U (2)

{T}: Target snow land becomes a 2/2 creature until end of turn. It's still a land.

"The very lands of Balduvia are alive."
—Arna Kennerüd, skyknight

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature can attack, and its {tap} abilities can be activated, only if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of his or her most recent turn. It doesn't matter how long the permanent has been a creature.
  • 10/1/2008: If an affected land later loses the supertype snow, Balduvian Conjurer's effect doesn't end. The land will remain a creature until end of turn.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#40 (Mark Tedin)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Balduvianischer Beschwörer
French Conjurateur balduvian
Italian Evocatore di Balduvia
Spanish Taumaturgo balduviano
Portuguese Conjurador Balduviano


all prints in all languages


Barbed Sextant Barbed Sextant English

Artifact, 1 (1)

{1}, {T}, Sacrifice Barbed Sextant: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool. Draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.

Illus. Amy Weber

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#204 (Amy Weber)

Editions:
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Deckmasters (Special)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Gezackter Sextant
French Sextant barbelé
Italian Sestante Spinato
Spanish Sextante barbado
Portuguese Sextante Farpado


all prints in all languages


Brainstorm Brainstorm English

Instant, U (1)

Draw three cards, then put two cards from your hand on top of your library in any order.

"I reeled from the blow, and then suddenly, I knew exactly what to do. Within moments, victory was mine."
—Gustha Ebbasdotter, Kjeldoran royal mage

Illus. Christopher Rush

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/8/2016: You draw three cards and put two cards back all while Brainstorm is resolving. Nothing can happen between the two, and no player may choose to take actions.
  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#42 (Christopher Rush)

Editions:
English Eternal Masters (Uncommon)
English Commander 2015 (Common)
English Vintage Masters (Common)
English Conspiracy (Common)
English Duel Decks: Izzet vs. Golgari (Common)
English Commander (Common)
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)
English Beatdown Box Set (Special)
English Mercadian Masques (Common)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Gedankenwirbel
French Remue-méninges
Italian Tempesta Cerebrale
Spanish Inspiración súbita
Portuguese Tempestade Cerebral
Japanese 渦まく知識
Simplified Chinese 脑力激荡


all prints in all languages


Brassclaw Orcs Brassclaw Orcs English

Creature — Orc 3/2, 2R (3)

Brassclaw Orcs can't block creatures with power 2 or greater.

"A whole skin is worth a thousand victories."
—Orcish veteran of the Battle of Montford

Illus. Rob Alexander

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#119 (Rob Alexander)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Fallen Empires (Common (C1))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Orks von der Messingklaue
French Orques de la Griffe d'airain
Italian Orchi dell'Artiglio d'Ottone
Spanish Orcos Zarpabronce
Portuguese Orcs da Garra de Bronze


all prints in all languages


Brine Shaman Brine Shaman English

Creature — Human Cleric Shaman 1/1, 1B (2)

{T}, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn.

{1}{U}{U}, Sacrifice a creature: Counter target creature spell.

"The shamans of Marit Lage do her bidding in secret, but they do it gladly."
—Halvor Arenson, Kjeldoran priest

Illus. Cornelius Brudi

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: A “creature spell” is any spell with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact or Enchantment. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature spells.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#80 (Cornelius Brudi)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Gischtschamane
French Shamane des embruns
Italian Sciamano del Mare
Spanish Chamán del agua
Portuguese Xamã do Oceano


all prints in all languages


Carapace Carapace English

Enchantment — Aura, G (1)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +0/+2.

Sacrifice Carapace: Regenerate enchanted creature.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This leaves the battlefield when you activate its activated ability, but the enchanted creature won't be regenerated until the ability resolves. In the intervening time, the creature will no longer have the bonus that this had been giving it. This may cause the creature to be destroyed before the regeneration shield is created.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#155 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Homelands (Common (C2))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Rückenpanzer
French Carapace
Italian Carapace
Spanish Caparazón
Portuguese Carapaça


all prints in all languages


Cloak of Confusion Cloak of Confusion English

Enchantment — Aura, 1B (2)

Enchant creature you control

Whenever enchanted creature attacks and isn't blocked, you may have it assign no combat damage this turn. If you do, defending player discards a card at random.

Illus. Margaret Organ-Kean

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: An ability that triggers when something “attacks and isn't blocked” triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#82 (Margaret Organ-Kean)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Mantel der Verwirrung
French Cape de désarroi
Italian Mantello della Confusione
Spanish Manto de confusión
Portuguese Manto da Confusão


all prints in all languages


Combat Medic Combat Medic English

Creature — Human Cleric Soldier 0/2, 2W (3)

{1}{W}: Prevent the next 1 damage that would be dealt to target creature or player this turn.

"Without combat medics, Icatia would probably not have withstood the forces of chaos as long as it did."
—Sarpadian Empires, vol. VI

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#9 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English Anthologies (Special)
English Fallen Empires (Common (C1))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages


Dark Banishing Dark Banishing English

Instant, 2B (3)

Destroy target nonblack creature. It can't be regenerated.

"Will not the mountains quake and hills melt at the coming of the darkness? Share this vision with your enemies, Lim-Dûl, and they shall wither."
—Leshrac, Walker of Night

Illus. Drew Tucker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#84 (Drew Tucker)

Editions:
English Tempest Remastered (Common)
English Duel Decks Anthology: Divine vs. Demonic (Common)
English Duel Decks: Divine vs. Demonic (Common)
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Ninth Edition (Common)
English Eighth Edition (Common)
English Deckmasters (Special)
English Seventh Edition (Common)
English Tempest (Common)
English Mirage (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Dunkle Verbannung
French Obscur bannissement
Italian Esilio Oscuro
Spanish Destierro sombrío
Portuguese Banimento Sombrio
Japanese 闇への追放
Simplified Chinese 黯境放逐
Russian Темное изгнание
Traditional Chinese 闇境放逐
Korean 암흑의 유형


all prints in all languages


Death Spark Death Spark English

Instant, R (1)

Death Spark deals 1 damage to target creature or player.

At the beginning of your upkeep, if Death Spark is in your graveyard with a creature card directly above it, you may pay {1}. If you do, return Death Spark to your hand.

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: A card is “directly above” another card in your graveyard if it was put into that graveyard later and there are no cards in between the two.
  • 10/1/2008: Players may not rearrange the cards in their graveyards.
  • 10/1/2008: If an effect or rule puts two or more cards into the same graveyard at the same time, the owner of those cards may arrange them in any order.
  • 10/1/2008: The last thing that happens to a resolving instant or sorcery spell is that it's put into its owner's graveyard. Example: You cast Wrath of God. All creatures on the battlefield are destroyed. You arrange all the cards put into your graveyard this way in any order you want. The other players in the game do the same to the cards that are put into their graveyards. Then you put Wrath of God into your graveyard, on top of the other cards.
  • 10/1/2008: Say you're the owner of both a permanent and an Aura that's attached to it. If both the permanent and the Aura are destroyed at the same time (by Akroma's Vengeance, for example), you decide the order they're put into your graveyard. If just the enchanted permanent is destroyed, it's put into your graveyard first. Then, after state-based actions are checked, the Aura (which is no longer attached to anything) is put into your graveyard on top of it.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#123 (Mark Tedin)

Editions:
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Deckmasters (Special)
English Alliances (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Todesfunke
French Etincelle de mort
Italian Scintilla Mortale
Spanish Chispazo letal
Portuguese Centelha Letal


all prints in all languages


Disenchant Disenchant English

Instant, 1W (2)

Destroy target artifact or enchantment.

"I implore you not to forget the horrors of the past. You would have us start the Brothers' War anew!"
—Sorine Relicbane, Soldevi heretic

Illus. Brian Snõddy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This is not modal. If the target changes from an artifact to an enchantment or vice versa, this still destroys it.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#10 (Brian Snõddy)

Editions:
English Conspiracy: Take the Crown (Common)
English Tempest Remastered (Common)
English Time Spiral "Timeshifted" (Special)
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Seventh Edition (Common)
English Arena League (Special)
English Magic Player Rewards (Special)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)
English Battle Royale Box Set (Special)
English Mercadian Masques (Common)
English Classic Sixth Edition (Common)
English Anthologies (Special)
English Urza's Saga (Common)
English Tempest (Common)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Mirage (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English Revised Edition (Summer Magic "Edgar") (Common)
English Revised Edition (Common)
English International Collectors' Edition (Common)
English Collector's Edition (Common)
English Unlimited Edition (Common)
English Limited Edition Beta (Common)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Entzauberung
French Désenchantement
Italian Disincantare
Spanish Desencantar
Portuguese Desencantar
Japanese 解呪
Simplified Chinese 消除魔障
Russian Разочаровывать


all prints in all languages


Drift of the Dead Drift of the Dead English

Creature — Wall */*, 3B (4)

Defender (This creature can't attack.)

Drift of the Dead's power and toughness are each equal to the number of snow lands you control.

"Take their dead, and entomb them in the snow. Risen, they shall serve a new purpose."
—Lim-Dûl, the Necromancer

Illus. Brian Snõddy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#86 (Brian Snõddy)

Editions:
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Ice Age (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Todesdrift
French Congère macabre
Italian Cumulo di Morti
Spanish Alud de muertos
Portuguese Mouroço dos Mortos


all prints in all languages


next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] 80 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.