next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ][ 2201-2216 ] 2216 cards

Afiya Grove Afiya Grove English

Enchantment, 1G (2)

Afiya Grove enters the battlefield with three +1/+1 counters on it.

At the beginning of your upkeep, move a +1/+1 counter from Afiya Grove onto target creature.

When Afiya Grove has no +1/+1 counters on it, sacrifice it.

Illus. Stuart Griffin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If there are any creatures on the battlefield, even if they are just your opponent's, you must put a +1/+1 on one of them. If there are no creatures on the battlefield, then no counter is removed from this card.
Printings:
#103 (Stuart Griffin)

Editions:
English Mirage (Rare)

Languages:
German Afiyahain
French Bosquet d'afiyas
Italian Frutteto di Afiya
Spanish Arboleda de Afiya
Portuguese Bosque de Afiya


all prints in all languages

Agent of Erebos Agent of Erebos English

Enchantment Creature — Zombie 2/2, 3B (4)

Constellation — Whenever Agent of Erebos or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, exile all cards from target player's graveyard.

Erebos's minions hunt the Returned and warn those who consider the same folly.

Illus. Cyril Van Der Haegen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: The constellation ability is mandatory. If you are the only legal target (perhaps because your opponent has hexproof), you must target yourself and exile all the cards from your graveyard.
  • 4/26/2014: A constellation ability triggers whenever an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control for any reason. Enchantments with other card types, such as enchantment creatures, will also cause constellation abilities to trigger.
  • 4/26/2014: An Aura spell without bestow that has an illegal target when it tries to resolve will be countered and put into its owner's graveyard. It won't enter the battlefield and constellation abilities won't trigger. An Aura spell with bestow won't be countered this way. It will revert to being an enchantment creature and resolve, entering the battlefield and triggering constellation abilities.
  • 4/26/2014: When an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, each constellation ability of permanents you control will trigger. You can put these abilities on the stack in any order. The last ability you put on the stack will be the first one that resolves.
Printings:
#59 (Cyril Van Der Haegen)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Agent des Erebos
French Agent d'Érébos
Italian Agente di Erebos
Spanish Agente de Erebos
Portuguese Agente de Érebo
Japanese エレボスの代行者
Simplified Chinese 厄睿柏斯的密探
Russian Агент Эреба
Traditional Chinese 厄睿柏斯的密探
Korean 에레보스의 하수인


all prints in all languages

Aggravated Assault Aggravated Assault English

Enchantment, 2R (3)

{3}{R}{R}: Untap all creatures you control. After this main phase, there is an additional combat phase followed by an additional main phase. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.

Illus. Greg Opalinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If you have enough mana, the ability may be activated more than once in a turn.
  • 10/4/2004: You will normally use this during your post-combat main phase so you can untap any creatures that attacked.
Printings:
#25 (Greg Opalinski)

Editions:
English Amonkhet Invocations (Special)
English Onslaught (Rare)

Languages:
German Anhaltender Ansturm
French Escalade de violence
Italian Assalto Aggravato
Spanish Agresión con agravantes
Portuguese Assalto Agravado


all prints in all languages

Aggression Aggression English

Enchantment — Aura, 2R (3)

Enchant non-Wall creature

Enchanted creature has first strike and trample.

At the beginning of the end step of enchanted creature's controller, destroy that creature if it didn't attack this turn.

The star that burns twice as bright burns half as long.

Illus. Rick Emond

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/15/2006: Moving the enchantment after the ability triggers will not affect which creatures are affected.
Printings:
#169 (Rick Emond)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Agressivität
French Agression
Italian Aggressività
Spanish Agresión
Portuguese Agressão


all prints in all languages

Aggressive Mining Aggressive Mining English

Enchantment, 3R (4)

You can't play lands.

Sacrifice a land: Draw two cards. Activate this ability only once each turn.

Designed by Markus Persson

Illus. Franz Vohwinkel

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/18/2014: You can activate the ability once on each player's turn, not just your own.
  • 7/18/2014: Aggressive Mining doesn't stop lands from being put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability. It only stops the special action of playing a land.
Printings:
#127 (Franz Vohwinkel)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Rare)

Languages:
German Raubbau
French Minage agressif
Italian Escavazione Aggressiva
Spanish Excavación intensiva
Portuguese Mineração Agressiva
Japanese 強引な採掘
Simplified Chinese 大举掘藏
Russian Интенсивная Разработка
Traditional Chinese 大舉掘藏
Korean 공격적인 채광


all prints in all languages

Agility Agility English

Enchantment — Aura, 1R (2)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 and has flanking. (Whenever a creature without flanking blocks this creature, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.)

Illus. Drew Tucker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If the enchanted creature already has Flanking, its effect is cumulative.
Printings:
#154 (Drew Tucker)

Editions:
English Mirage (Common)

Languages:
German Geschicklichkeit
French Agilité
Italian Agilità
Spanish Agilidad
Portuguese Agilidade


all prints in all languages

Agoraphobia Agoraphobia English

Enchantment — Aura, 1U (2)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets -5/-0.

{2}{U}: Return Agoraphobia to its owner's hand.

"Everyone in this city is choosing sides. I choose inside."

Illus. Jim Murray

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/24/2013: Only Agoraphobia's controller can activate its last ability, no matter who controls the creature Agoraphobia's attached to.
  • 1/24/2013: Agoraphobia's last ability can be activated only while it's on the battlefield.
  • 1/24/2013: Players don't have priority to cast spells and activate abilities between combat damage being assigned and being dealt. This means that if you want to return Agoraphobia to its owner's hand before combat damage is dealt, you must do so before combat damage is assigned (and the creature will no longer get -5/-0).
Printings:
#22 (Jim Murray)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska (Uncommon)
English Gatecrash (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Agoraphobie
French Agoraphobie
Italian Agorafobia
Spanish Agorafobia
Portuguese Agorafobia
Japanese 外出恐怖症
Simplified Chinese 惧旷症
Russian Агорафобия
Traditional Chinese 懼曠症
Korean 광장공포증


all prints in all languages

Aid from the Cowl Aid from the Cowl English

Enchantment, 3GG (5)

Revolt — At the beginning of your end step, if a permanent you controlled left the battlefield this turn, reveal the top card of your library. If it's a permanent card, you may put it onto the battlefield. Otherwise, you may put it on the bottom of your library.

Illus. Viktor Titov

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: If the revealed card is not a permanent card or if you choose not to put it onto the battlefield, you may put it on the bottom of your library. If you don't, it remains on top of your library.
  • 2/9/2017: A permanent card is an artifact, creature, enchantment, land, or planeswalker card.
  • 2/9/2017: If a permanent put onto the battlefield this way has an ability that triggers at the beginning of your end step, it won't trigger during this end step.
  • 2/9/2017: Revolt abilities check only whether a permanent you controlled left the battlefield this turn or not. They don't apply multiple times if more than one permanent you controlled left the battlefield. They don't check whether the permanent that left the battlefield is still in the zone it moved to.
  • 2/9/2017: Revolt abilities don't care why the permanent left the battlefield, who caused it to move, or where it moved to. They're equally satisfied by an artifact you sacrificed to pay a cost, a creature you controlled that was destroyed by Murder, or an enchantment you returned to your hand with Leave in the Dust.
  • 2/9/2017: Tokens that leave the battlefield will satisfy a revolt ability.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren't permanents. Paying {e} won't satisfy a revolt ability.
  • 2/9/2017: All cards in the Aether Revolt set with triggered revolt abilities use an intervening “if” clause. A permanent you controlled must have left the battlefield earlier in the turn in order for these abilities to trigger; otherwise they do nothing. In other words, there's no way to have the ability trigger if no permanent you controlled has left the battlefield that turn, even if you intend to have one do so in response to the triggered ability.
Printings:
#105 (Viktor Titov)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Rare)

Languages:
German Unterstützung vom Kuttengrund
French Aide de l'Auvent
Italian Sostegno dalla Cappa
Spanish Refuerzos de Cogulla
Portuguese Ajuda do Capote
Japanese 僧帽地帯からの援軍
Simplified Chinese 外沿区相助
Russian Помощь из Покрова
Traditional Chinese 外沿區相助
Korean 카울의 지원


all prints in all languages

Air Bladder Air Bladder English

Enchantment — Aura, U (1)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature has flying.

Enchanted creature can block only creatures with flying.

Random mutations among Rootwater merfolk were common—and disturbing.

Illus. Donato Giancola

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#28 (Donato Giancola)

Editions:
English Nemesis (Common)

Languages:
German Luftblase
French Ballonnement
Italian Vescica Aereatoria
Spanish Vejiga de aire
Portuguese Câmara de Ar


all prints in all languages

Ajani's Aid Ajani's Aid English

Enchantment, 2WG (4)

When Ajani's Aid enters the battlefield, you may search your library and/or graveyard for a card named Ajani, Valiant Protector, reveal it, and put it into your hand. If you search your library this way, shuffle it.

Sacrifice Ajani's Aid: Prevent all combat damage a creature of your choice would deal this turn.

Illus. Terese Nielsen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: The last ability of Ajani's Aid doesn't target anything. You choose a source of damage as the ability resolves.
  • 2/9/2017: You can activate the last ability even if there is no creature about to deal combat damage, or even no creature at all. No damage will be prevented, but it will enable your revolt abilities.
Printings:
#188 (Terese Nielsen)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Rare)

Languages:
German Ajanis Hilfe
French Aide d'Ajani
Italian Sostegno di Ajani
Spanish Refuerzos de Ajani
Portuguese Ajuda de Ajani
Japanese アジャニの援助
Simplified Chinese 阿耶尼的援助
Russian Помощь Аджани
Traditional Chinese 阿耶尼的援助
Korean 아자니의 지원


all prints in all languages

Ajani's Mantra Ajani's Mantra English

Enchantment, 1W (2)

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may gain 1 life.

"He hasn't returned to the Cloud Forest. But I can still sense his calming presence."
—Zaliki of Naya

Illus. James Paick

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#22 (James Paick)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Ajani vs. Nicol Bolas (Common)
English Magic 2011 (Common)

Languages:
German Ajanis Mantra
French Mantra d'Ajani
Italian Mantra di Ajani
Spanish Mantra de Ajani
Portuguese Mantra de Ajani
Japanese アジャニのマントラ
Simplified Chinese 阿耶尼的祈祷文
Russian Мантра Аджани
Traditional Chinese 阿耶尼的祈禱文


all prints in all languages

Alexi's Cloak Alexi's Cloak English

Enchantment — Aura, 1U (2)

Flash

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature has shroud. (It can't be the target of spells or abilities.)

"Doesn't look like much, does it?"
—Alexi, zephyr mage

Illus. Alan Rabinowitz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2005: Any Auras already on the creature remain.
Printings:
#29 (Alan Rabinowitz)

Editions:
English Prophecy (Common)

Languages:
German Alexis Umhang
French Manteau d' Alexie
Italian Mantello di Alexi
Spanish Capa de Alexi
Portuguese Manto de Alexi


all prints in all languages

Alms Alms English

Enchantment, W (1)

{1}, Exile the top card of your graveyard: Prevent the next 1 damage that would be dealt to target creature this turn.

"Helping people is mostly a matter of teaching them to help themselves."
—Sisay, journal

Illus. Rogério Vilela

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: The “top” card of your graveyard is the card that was put there most recently.
  • 4/1/2008: Players may not rearrange the cards in their graveyards. This is a little-known rule because new cards that care about graveyard order haven't been printed in years.
  • 4/1/2008: If an effect or rule puts two or more cards into the same graveyard at the same time, the owner of those cards may arrange them in any order.
  • 4/1/2008: The last thing that happens to a resolving instant or sorcery spell is that it's put into its owner's graveyard. —Example: You cast Wrath of God. All creatures on the battlefield are destroyed. You arrange all the cards put into your graveyard this way in any order you want. The other players in the game do the same to the cards that are put into their graveyards. Then you put Wrath of God into your graveyard, on top of the other cards.
  • 4/1/2008: Say you're the owner of both a permanent and an Aura that's attached to it. If both the permanent and the Aura are destroyed at the same time (by Akroma's Vengeance, for example), you decide the order they're put into your graveyard. If just the enchanted permanent is destroyed, it's put into your graveyard first. Then, after state-based actions are checked, the Aura (which is no longer attached to anything) is put into your graveyard on top of it.
Printings:
#119 (Rogério Vilela)

Editions:
English Weatherlight (Common)

Languages:
German Almosen
French Aumône
Italian Carità
Spanish Limosna
Portuguese Donativo


all prints in all languages

Alpha Authority Alpha Authority English

Enchantment — Aura, 1G (2)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature has hexproof and can't be blocked by more than one creature.

Even the bitterest enemies of the Burning-Tree Clan respect the strength of Borborygmos's rule.

Illus. Dave Kendall

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#114 (Dave Kendall)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Macht des Alphatiers
French Autorité de l'alpha
Italian Autorità Alfa
Spanish Autoridad del alfa
Portuguese Autoridade de Alfa
Japanese 最上位権限
Simplified Chinese 首领威信
Russian Власть Вожака
Traditional Chinese 首領威信
Korean 우두머리의 권위


all prints in all languages

Alpha Status Alpha Status English

Enchantment — Aura, 2G (3)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +2/+2 for each other creature on the battlefield that shares a creature type with it.

The best leaders are made by their followers.

Illus. Darrell Riche

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Alpha Status counts each creature once if that creature shares at least one creature type with the enchanted creature.
Printings:
#110 (Darrell Riche)

Editions:
English Scourge (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Rudelführer-Status
French Dominance
Italian Esemplare Alpha
Spanish Categoría alfa
Portuguese Status de Alfa


all prints in all languages

Aluren Aluren English

Enchantment, 2GG (4)

Any player may cast creature spells with converted mana cost 3 or less without paying their mana cost and as though they had flash.

Squee bounced up and down. "I sees a horsey, an' a piggy, an' a—"
"If you don't shut up," hissed Mirri, "you'll see a kidney and a spleeny."

Illus. April Lee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The mana cost of the creatures being cast is still the stated cost on the card, even though you did not pay the cost.
  • 10/4/2004: Aluren checks the actual printed cost on the creature card, and is not affected by things which allow you to cast the spell for less.
  • 10/4/2004: You can't choose to cast a creature as though it had flash via Aluren and still pay the mana cost. You either cast the creature normally, or via Aluren without paying the mana cost.
  • 10/4/2004: You can't use Aluren when casting a creature using another alternate means, such as the Morph ability.
  • 8/1/2008: If creature with X in its cost is cast this way, X can only be 0.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#165 (April Lee)

Editions:
English Tempest Remastered (Rare)
English Tempest (Rare)

Languages:
German Magischer Hain
French Contrée ensorcelée
Italian Aluren
Spanish Pasajes encantados
Portuguese Aluren


all prints in all languages


Always Watching Always Watching English

Enchantment, 1WW (3)

Nontoken creatures you control get +1/+1 and have vigilance.

"We pray to Avacyn on high.
On snow-white wings fearless you fly.
Keep safe our souls. Keep safe our lives.
May angels watch us from the skies."
—Children's prayer

Illus. Chase Stone

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#1 (Chase Stone)

Editions:
English Shadows over Innistrad (Rare)

Languages:
German Immer wachsam
French Observation constante
Italian Sempre all'Erta
Spanish Siempre alerta
Portuguese Sempre Vigilante
Japanese 永遠の見守り
Simplified Chinese 时刻戒护
Russian Вечный Дозор
Traditional Chinese 時刻戒護
Korean 끝없는 감시


all prints in all languages

Ambiguity Ambiguity English

Enchantment, 2UU (4)

Whenever a player plays a spell that counters a spell that has been played or a player plays a spell that comes into play with counters, that player may counter the next spell played or put an additional counter on a permanent that has already been played, but not countered.

Illus. Stephen Daniele

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • This card is not legal in any format
Printings:
#24 (Stephen Daniele)

Editions:
English Unhinged (Rare)

Languages:
French Ambiguïté


all prints in all languages

Amok Amok English

Enchantment, 1R (2)

{1}, Discard a card at random: Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.

Crovax's rage was horrifying. Within moments only blood and shreds of flesh remained of the shapeshifter.

Illus. Dermot Power

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#76 (Dermot Power)

Editions:
English Stronghold (Rare)

Languages:
German Amok
French Amok
Italian Tumulto
Spanish Locura temporal
Portuguese Amoque


all prints in all languages

An-Zerrin Ruins An-Zerrin Ruins English

Enchantment, 2RR (4)

As An-Zerrin Ruins enters the battlefield, choose a creature type.

Creatures of the chosen type don't untap during their controllers' untap steps.

"The An-Zerrins have served me well, ever since I first killed them."
—Baron Sengir

Illus. Dennis Detwiller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#87 (Dennis Detwiller)

Editions:
English Homelands (Rare (U1))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Rare)

Languages:
German Ruinen von An-Zerrin
French Ruines des An-zerrins
Italian Rovine di An-Zerrin
Spanish Ruinas de An-Havva
Portuguese Ruínas dos An-Zerrin


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ][ 2201-2216 ] 2216 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.