[ 1-5 ] 5 cards

Alhammarret, High Arbiter Alhammarret, High Arbiter English

Legendary Creature — Sphinx 5/5, 5UU (7)

Flying

As Alhammarret, High Arbiter enters the battlefield, each opponent reveals his or her hand. You choose the name of a nonland card revealed this way.

Your opponents can't cast spells with the chosen name (as long as this creature is on the battlefield).

Illus. Richard Wright

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: Alhammarret's second ability happens as Alhammarret enters the battlefield. No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Alhammarret's last ability starts to work.
  • 6/22/2015: You choose one card name, not one name per opponent.
  • 6/22/2015: Although spells with the chosen name can't be cast, permanent cards with that name can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability.
  • 6/22/2015: If your opponents have no nonland cards in their hands, you can't choose a card name. Alhammarret's last ability won't stop any spells from being cast in that case.
  • 6/22/2015: Your opponents can still cast a card with the chosen name face down if it has a morph ability. A card with the chosen name can also be manifested.
Printings:
#43 (Richard Wright)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Alhammarret, Hoher Schlichter
French Alhammarret, grand arbitre
Italian Alhammarret, Sommo Giudice
Spanish Alhammarret, árbitro supremo
Portuguese Alhammarret, Juiz Supremo
Japanese 高位調停者、アルハマレット
Simplified Chinese 高等仲裁者阿哈玛瑞特
Russian Альхаммарет, Верховный Судья
Traditional Chinese 高等仲裁者阿哈瑪瑞特
Korean 재판장 알함마렛


all prints in all languages

Dwynen, Gilt-Leaf Daen Dwynen, Gilt-Leaf Daen English

Legendary Creature — Elf Warrior 3/4, 2GG (4)

Reach

Other Elf creatures you control get +1/+1.

Whenever Dwynen, Gilt-Leaf Daen attacks, you gain 1 life for each attacking Elf you control.

"This is our land. We will not allow eyeblights to poison its beauty."

Illus. Johannes Voss

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: Count the number of attacking Elves you control as Dwynen's last ability resolves to determine how much life to gain.
Printings:
#172 (Johannes Voss)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Dwynen, Güldenlaub-Daen
French Dwynen, daen de Feuilledor
Italian Dwynen, Daen di Foglia Dorata
Spanish Dwynen, daena de Hojas Doradas
Portuguese Dwynen, Daen de Folha D'Ouro
Japanese 光り葉の将帥、ドゥイネン
Simplified Chinese 金叶猎领德维恩
Russian Двайнен, Даэн Златолесья
Traditional Chinese 金葉獵領德維恩
Korean 금박나뭇잎의 다엔, 드위넨


all prints in all languages

Hixus, Prison Warden Hixus, Prison Warden English

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier 4/4, 3WW (5)

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)

Whenever a creature deals combat damage to you, if Hixus, Prison Warden entered the battlefield this turn, exile that creature until Hixus leaves the battlefield. (That creature returns under its owner's control.)

Illus. Chris Rallis

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: Hixus's ability causes a zone change with a duration, a style of ability that's somewhat reminiscent of older cards like Oblivion Ring. However, unlike Oblivion Ring, cards like Hixus have a single ability that creates two one-shot effects: one that exiles the creature when the ability resolves, and another that returns the exiled card to the battlefield immediately after Hixus leaves the battlefield.
  • 6/22/2015: If Hixus leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the creature that dealt combat damage to you won't be exiled.
  • 6/22/2015: Auras attached to the exiled creatures will be put into their owners' graveyards. Equipment attached to the exiled creatures will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled creatures will cease to exist.
  • 6/22/2015: If a creature token is exiled, it ceases to exist. It won't be returned to the battlefield.
  • 6/22/2015: The exiled cards return to the battlefield immediately after Hixus leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions.
  • 6/22/2015: In a multiplayer game, if Hixus's owner leaves the game, the exiled cards will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the cards isn't an ability that goes on the stack, it won't cease to exist along with the leaving player's spells and abilities on the stack.
Printings:
#19 (Chris Rallis)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Hixus der Gefängniswärter
French Hixus, gardien de prison
Italian Hixus, Guardiano della Prigione
Spanish Hixus, carcelero
Portuguese Hixus, o Carcereiro
Japanese 牢獄の管理人、ヒクサス
Simplified Chinese 典狱长希瑟思
Russian Хиксус, Тюремный Надзиратель
Traditional Chinese 典獄長希瑟思
Korean 간수 힉서스


all prints in all languages

Kothophed, Soul Hoarder Kothophed, Soul Hoarder English

Legendary Creature — Demon 6/6, 4BB (6)

Flying

Whenever a permanent owned by another player is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you draw a card and you lose 1 life.

"I will be your most demanding master, Liliana. But I have great things in mind for you."

Illus. Jakub Kasper

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: It doesn't matter who controlled the permanent when it was put into a graveyard.
  • 6/22/2015: The triggered ability is mandatory. You can't decline to draw the card and lose life, even if you want to.
Printings:
#104 (Jakub Kasper)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Kothophed der Seelensammler
French Kothophed, thésauriseur d'âmes
Italian Kothophed, Accaparratore di Anime
Spanish Kothophed, acaparador de almas
Portuguese Kothophed, Acumulador de Almas
Japanese 魂の貯蔵者、コソフェッド
Simplified Chinese 贮魂恶魔柯索非
Russian Котофед, Стяжатель Душ
Traditional Chinese 儲魂惡魔柯索非
Korean 탐욕스러운 영혼수집가 코소페드


all prints in all languages

Pia and Kiran Nalaar Pia and Kiran Nalaar English

Legendary Creature — Human Artificer 2/2, 2RR (4)

When Pia and Kiran Nalaar enters the battlefield, create two 1/1 colorless Thopter artifact creature tokens with flying.

{2}{R}, Sacrifice an artifact: Pia and Kiran Nalaar deals 2 damage to target creature or player.

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#157 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Pia und Kiran Nalaar
French Pia et Kiran Nalaàr
Italian Pia e Kiran Nalaar
Spanish Pia y Kiran Nalaar
Portuguese Pia e Kiran Nalaar
Japanese ピア・ナラーとキラン・ナラー
Simplified Chinese 琵雅纳拉与基岚纳拉
Russian Пия и Киран Налаар
Traditional Chinese 琵雅納拉與基嵐納拉
Korean 피아 날라르와 키란 날라르


all prints in all languages

[ 1-5 ] 5 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.