[ 1-6 ] 6 cards

Ancient Spider Ancient Spider English

Creature — Spider 2/5, 2WG (4)

First strike; reach (This creature can block creatures with flying.)

It outlived both king and castle.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#96 (Greg Staples)

English Planeshift (Rare)

German Uralte Spinne
French Ancienne araignée
Italian Ragno Antico
Spanish Araña antigua
Portuguese Aranha Anciã

all prints in all languages

Dragonlair Spider Dragonlair Spider English

Creature — Spider 5/6, 2RRGG (6)


Whenever an opponent casts a spell, create a 1/1 green Insect creature token.

Swarms thrive in its nest, feeding on leathery bits of discarded wing.

Illus. Carl Critchlow

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2012: The triggered ability will resolve and the Insect will be created before the spell that caused it to trigger resolves.
  • 6/1/2012: The triggered ability won't be affected if the spell that caused it to trigger is countered.
#87 (Carl Critchlow)

English Planechase Anthology (Rare)
English Conspiracy: Take the Crown (Rare)
English Commander's Arsenal (Rare)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Rare)

German Drachenhortspinne
French Araignée de la tanière du dragon
Italian Ragna Tana di Drago
Spanish Araña del cubil del dragón
Japanese ドラゴンの巣の蜘蛛
Simplified Chinese 龙穴蜘蛛

all prints in all languages

Giant Trap Door Spider Giant Trap Door Spider English

Creature — Spider 2/3, 1RG (3)

{1}{R}{G}, {T}: Exile Giant Trap Door Spider and target creature without flying that's attacking you.

"So large and so quiet—a combination best avoided."
—Disa the Restless, journal entry

Illus. Heather Hudson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If Giant Trap Door Spider leaves the battlefield before its ability resolves, the ability will still resolve as normal. The targeted creature will be exiled.
  • 10/4/2004: If the targeted creature leaves the battlefield (or otherwise becomes an illegal target) before the ability resolves, the ability won't resolve. Giant Trap Door Spider will remain on the battlefield.
#42 (Heather Hudson)

English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Deckmasters (Special)
English Ice Age (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Uncommon)

German Riesige Falltürspinne
French Araignée géante piègeuse
Italian Ragno Intrappolatore
Spanish Araña cavadora gigante
Portuguese Aranha Armadeira Gigante

all prints in all languages

Nyx Weaver Nyx Weaver English

Enchantment Creature — Spider 2/3, 1BG (3)


At the beginning of your upkeep, put the top two cards of your library into your graveyard.

{1}{B}{G}, Exile Nyx Weaver: Return target card from your graveyard to your hand.

Illus. Jack Wang

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

#153 (Jack Wang)

English Journey into Nyx (Uncommon)

German Nyx-Weberin
French Tisseuse de Nyx
Italian Tessitrice di Nyx
Spanish Tejedora de Nyx
Portuguese Tecedora de Nyx
Japanese ニクスの織り手
Simplified Chinese 尼兹蜘蛛
Russian Прядильщик Никса
Traditional Chinese 尼茲蜘蛛
Korean 닉스 방직공

all prints in all languages

Obelisk Spider Obelisk Spider English

Creature — Spider 1/4, 1BG (3)


Whenever Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature, put a -1/-1 counter on that creature.

Whenever you put one or more -1/-1 counters on a creature, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

Illus. YW Tang

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: If a creature with wither or infect deals damage to a creature, the controller of the creature with wither or infect puts that many -1/-1 counters on the second creature.
  • 7/14/2017: Obelisk Spider's first triggered ability puts only one -1/-1 counter on the creature, no matter how much combat damage it dealt.
  • 7/14/2017: If Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature but that creature isn't on the battlefield as Obelisk Spider's first triggered ability resolves, most likely because Obelisk Spider killed that creature already, that ability won't put a -1/-1 counter on it.
  • 7/14/2017: Because damage remains marked on a creature until it's removed as the turn ends, the counter Obelisk Spider's first triggered ability puts on a creature may cause previously marked damage to become lethal.
  • 7/14/2017: If Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature at the same time Obelisk Spider is dealt lethal damage, its first triggered ability will put a -1/-1 counter on the other creature. However, because Obelisk Spider has left the battlefield before that ability resolves, its last ability won't trigger.
  • 7/14/2017: If you put one or more -1/-1 counter on each of multiple creatures at the same time, Obelisk Spider's last ability triggers once for each of those creatures.
  • 7/14/2017: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Obelisk Spider's last ability causes the opposing team to lose 2 life and you gain 1 life.
#141 (YW Tang)

English Hour of Devastation (Uncommon)

German Obelisken-Spinne
French Araignée des obélisques
Italian Ragno degli Obelischi
Spanish Araña del obelisco
Portuguese Aranha do Obelisco
Japanese オベリスクの蜘蛛
Simplified Chinese 石碑蜘蛛
Russian Паук Обелисков
Traditional Chinese 石碑蜘蛛
Korean 오벨리스크 거미

all prints in all languages

Pale Recluse Pale Recluse English

Creature — Spider 4/5, 4WG (6)

Reach (This creature can block creatures with flying.)

Forestcycling {2}, plainscycling {2} ({2}, Discard this card: Search your library for a Forest or Plains card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.)

Illus. Cyril Van Der Haegen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: Unlike the normal cycling ability, landcycling doesn't allow you to draw a card. Instead, it lets you search your library for a land card of the specified land type, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
  • 5/1/2009: Landcycling is a form of cycling. Any ability that triggers on a card being cycled also triggers on a card being landcycled. Any ability that stops a cycling ability from being activated also stops a landcycling ability from being activated.
  • 5/1/2009: You can choose to find any card with the appropriate land type, including nonbasic lands. You can also choose not to find a card, even if there is a land card with the appropriate type in your library.
  • 5/1/2009: A landcycling ability lets you search for any card in your library with the stated land type. It doesn't have to be a basic land.
  • 5/1/2009: You may only activate one landcycling ability at a time. You must specify which landcycling ability you are activating as you cycle this card, not as the ability resolves.
#91 (Cyril Van Der Haegen)

English Archenemy (Common)
English Alara Reborn (Common)

German Bleiche Einsiedlerspinne
French Pâle recluse
Italian Eremita Pallido
Spanish Reclusa pálida
Portuguese Eremita Pálido
Japanese 青ざめた出家蜘蛛
Simplified Chinese 苍白隐士
Russian Бледный Отшельник

all prints in all languages

[ 1-6 ] 6 cards

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.