next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 621-624 ] 624 cards

Academy Elite Academy Elite English

Creature — Human Wizard 0/0, 3U (4)

Academy Elite enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it, where X is the number of instant and sorcery cards in all graveyards.

{2}{U}, Remove a +1/+1 counter from Academy Elite: Draw a card, then discard a card.

Illus. Volkan Baga

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#81 (Volkan Baga)

Editions:
English Commander 2016 (Rare)
English Vintage Masters (Rare)
English Conspiracy (Rare)

Languages:
German Elite der Akademie
French Élite de l'académie
Italian Elite dell'Accademia
Spanish Élite de la academia
Portuguese Elite da Academia
Japanese アカデミーの精鋭
Simplified Chinese 学院精英


all prints in all languages

Academy Researchers Academy Researchers English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 1UU (3)

When Academy Researchers enters the battlefield, you may put an Aura card from your hand onto the battlefield attached to Academy Researchers.

They brandish their latest theories as warriors would wield weapons.

Illus. Stephen Daniele

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/15/2007: You can’t put an Aura card from your hand onto the battlefield this way if that Aura can’t legally enchant Academy Researchers. For example, you can’t put an Aura with “enchant land” or “enchant green creature” onto the battlefield attached to Academy Researchers (unless Academy Researchers somehow turned into a land or a green creature before the ability resolved).
Printings:
#63 (Stephen Daniele)

Editions:
English Tenth Edition (Uncommon)
English Urza's Saga (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Forscher der Akademie
French Chercheurs de l'académie
Italian Ricercatori dell'Accademia
Spanish Investigadores de la Academia
Portuguese Pesquisadores da Academia
Japanese アカデミーの研究者
Simplified Chinese 学院研究员
Russian Исследователи из Академии
Traditional Chinese 學院研究員


all prints in all languages

Aerie Mystics Aerie Mystics English

Creature — Bird Wizard 3/3, 4W (5)

Flying

{1}{G}{U}: Creatures you control gain shroud until end of turn. (They can't be the targets of spells or abilities.)

They are cautious with their body language and facial expressions. Any stray movement could betray the positions of the troops they protect and cost many lives.

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#1 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Commander Anthology (Uncommon)
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Conflux (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Adlerhorst-Mystiker
French Mystiques de l'aérain
Italian Mistici del Nido
Spanish Místicos del nido
Portuguese Místicos Altívolos
Japanese 高層の神秘家
Simplified Chinese 巢居秘教徒
Russian Мистики Гнездовья


all prints in all languages

Æther Adept Æther Adept English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 1UU (3)

When Æther Adept enters the battlefield, return target creature to its owner's hand.

"The universe is my instrument, and the song I play upon it is one you are forbidden to hear."

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: If there are no other creatures on the battlefield when Aether Adept enters the battlefield, it must target itself.
Printings:
#12 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska (Common)
English Magic 2012 (Common)
English Magic 2011 (Common)

Languages:
German Meister des Äthers
French Experte de l'Æther
Italian Esperta dell'Etere
Spanish Perito del éter
Portuguese Adepto do Éter
Japanese 霊気の達人
Simplified Chinese 乙太专家
Russian Адепт Эфира
Traditional Chinese 乙太專家


all prints in all languages

Alabaster Mage Alabaster Mage English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/1, 1W (2)

{1}{W}: Target creature you control gains lifelink until end of turn. (Damage dealt by the creature also causes its controller to gain that much life.)

"We hold sacred the powers of light and life. Truth and honor are our greatest weapons."
—Alabaster creed

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: Multiple instances of lifelink on the same creature provide no additional benefit. The creature’s controller gains life equal the damage dealt and no more.
Printings:
#2 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Magic 2012 (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Alabastermagier
French Mage de l'albâtre
Italian Mago di Alabastro
Spanish Mago de alabastro
Portuguese Mago Alabastro
Japanese 雪花石の魔道士
Simplified Chinese 洁白法师
Russian Алебастровый Маг
Traditional Chinese 潔白法師


all prints in all languages

Alchemist's Apprentice Alchemist's Apprentice English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/1, 1U (2)

Sacrifice Alchemist's Apprentice: Draw a card.

Side effects may include foul odors, scalding steam, and spontaneous nonexistence.

Illus. David Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#42 (David Palumbo)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Common)

Languages:
German Alchemistenlehrling
French Apprenti alchimiste
Italian Apprendista dell'Alchimista
Spanish Aprendiz de alquimista
Portuguese Aprendiz de Alquimista
Japanese 錬金術師の弟子
Simplified Chinese 炼金术士学徒
Russian Подмастерье Алхимика
Traditional Chinese 鍊金術士學徒
Korean 연금술사 견습생


all prints in all languages

Ambassador Laquatus Ambassador Laquatus English

Legendary Creature — Merfolk Wizard 1/3, 1UU (3)

{3}: Target player puts the top three cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard.

"Life is a game. The only thing that matters is whether you're a pawn or a player."

Illus. Jim Murray

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#65 (Jim Murray)

Editions:
English Tenth Edition (Rare)
English Torment (Rare)

Languages:
German Botschafter Laquatus
French Ambassadeur Laquatus
Italian Ambasciatore Laquatus
Spanish Embajador Laquatus
Portuguese Embaixador Laquatus
Japanese ラクァタス大使
Simplified Chinese 大使拉夸塔
Russian Посол Лакватус
Traditional Chinese 大使拉夸塔


all prints in all languages

Amphin Pathmage Amphin Pathmage English

Creature — Salamander Wizard 3/2, 3U (4)

{2}{U}: Target creature can't be blocked this turn.

"There are those who do not believe in the existence of the amphin. This seems somehow to be of their own design."
—Gor Muldrak, Cryptohistories

Illus. Mark Winters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/18/2014: Activating the ability after blockers have been declared won’t have any effect. It won’t change or undo any blocks.
Printings:
#45 (Mark Winters)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Common)

Languages:
German Amphin-Wegbereiter
French Sentemage amphin
Italian Mago dei Sentieri Amphin
Spanish Mago alternativo anfino
Portuguese Mago Trilhador Amphin
Japanese アンフィンの抜け道魔道士
Simplified Chinese 埃分径法师
Russian Амфин-Проводник
Traditional Chinese 埃分徑法師
Korean 앰핀 통로술사


all prints in all languages

Ana Battlemage Ana Battlemage English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 2G (3)

Kicker {2}{U} and/or {1}{B} (You may pay an additional {2}{U} and/or {1}{B} as you cast this spell.)

When Ana Battlemage enters the battlefield, if it was kicked with its {2}{U} kicker, target player discards three cards.

When Ana Battlemage enters the battlefield, if it was kicked with its {1}{B} kicker, tap target untapped creature and that creature deals damage equal to its power to its controller.

Illus. Jim Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2007: The second triggered ability targets an untapped creature. If there are no other untapped creatures when Ana Battlemage enters the battlefield, it must target Ana Battlemage. If the target becomes tapped by the time the ability tries to resolve, the ability will be countered.
Printings:
#124 (Jim Nelson)

Editions:
English Planar Chaos (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ana-Kampfmagier
French Mage de bataille anaïste
Italian Mago Combattente di Ana
Spanish Mago de guerra Ana
Portuguese Mago de Combate de Ana
Japanese アナの戦闘魔道士
Simplified Chinese 阿纳战法术师
Russian Ана Боевой Маг


all prints in all languages

Ana Disciple Ana Disciple English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/1, G (1)

{U}, {T}: Target creature gains flying until end of turn.

{B}, {T}: Target creature gets -2/-0 until end of turn.

"The blessings of Gaea alone are no longer enough."

Illus. Darrell Riche

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#73 (Darrell Riche)

Editions:
English Apocalypse (Common)

Languages:
German Vela-Schüler
French Disciple de l'Ana
Italian Discepolo di Ana
Spanish Discípulo Ana
Portuguese Discípulo de Ana


all prints in all languages

Anarchist Anarchist English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 4R (5)

When Anarchist enters the battlefield, you may return target sorcery card from your graveyard to your hand.

"I'll take that. You won't need it when the revolution comes."

Illus. Brom

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#125 (Brom)

Editions:
English Tempest Remastered (Common)
English Ninth Edition (Uncommon)
English Odyssey (Common)
English Exodus (Common)

Languages:
German Anarchist
French Anarchiste
Italian Anarchico
Spanish Anarquista
Portuguese Anarquista
Japanese 無政府主義者
Simplified Chinese 无政府主义者
Russian Анархист
Traditional Chinese
Korean


all prints in all languages


Anathemancer Anathemancer English

Creature — Zombie Wizard 2/2, 1BR (3)

When Anathemancer enters the battlefield, it deals damage to target player equal to the number of nonbasic lands that player controls.

Unearth {5}{B}{R} ({5}{B}{R}: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step or if it would leave the battlefield. Unearth only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Richard Whitters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#33 (Richard Whitters)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Uncommon)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

Languages:
German Fluchmagier
French Anathèmancien
Italian Anatemante
Spanish Anatemante
Portuguese Anatemântico
Japanese 呪詛術士
Simplified Chinese 恶咒法师
Russian Анафемант


all prints in all languages

Aphetto Alchemist Aphetto Alchemist English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/2, 1U (2)

{T}: Untap target artifact or creature.

Morph {U} (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}. Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

He brews trouble.

Illus. Ron Spears

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#64 (Ron Spears)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Aphettonischer Alchimist
French Alchimiste aphettien
Italian Alchimista di Aphetto
Spanish Alquimista de Afetto
Portuguese Alquimista de Aphetto


all prints in all languages

Aphetto Exterminator Aphetto Exterminator English

Creature — Human Wizard 3/1, 2B (3)

Morph {3}{B} (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}. Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

When Aphetto Exterminator is turned face up, target creature gets -3/-3 until end of turn.

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The trigger occurs when you use the Morph ability to turn the card face up, or when an effect turns it face up. It will not trigger on being revealed or on leaving the battlefield.
Printings:
#59 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Legions (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Aphettonischer Ausrotter
French Exterminateur aphettien
Italian Sterminatore di Aphetto
Spanish Exterminador de Afetto
Portuguese Exterminador de Aphetto


all prints in all languages

Aphetto Grifter Aphetto Grifter English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/1, 2U (3)

Tap two untapped Wizards you control: Tap target permanent.

Aphetto con artists started working in pairs to make it less likely they'd be the victims of con artists.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Since the ability does not have the {tap} symbol, you can use the ability before this creature begins a turn under your control.
  • 10/4/2004: It can tap itself but is not required to do so.
Printings:
#65 (Greg Staples)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Aphettonischer Gauner
French Filou aphettien
Italian Biscazziere di Aphetto
Spanish Timador de Afetto
Portuguese Vigarista de Aphetto


all prints in all languages

Aphetto Runecaster Aphetto Runecaster English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/3, 3U (4)

Whenever a permanent is turned face up, you may draw a card.

"The ignorant fear change; the wise use it as a weapon."

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2007: Triggers when any permanent is turned face up, not just a creature.
Printings:
#28 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Scourge (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Aphettonischer Runenleser
French Lanceur de runes aphettien
Italian Tracciarune di Aphetto
Spanish Lanzarrunas de Afeto
Portuguese Conjurador de Runas de Aphetto


all prints in all languages

Apprentice Necromancer Apprentice Necromancer English

Creature — Zombie Wizard 1/1, 1B (2)

{B}, {T}, Sacrifice Apprentice Necromancer: Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. That creature gains haste. At the beginning of the next end step, sacrifice it.

A mage willing to dedicate his life to his craft.

Illus. Randy Vargas

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#97 (Randy Vargas)

Editions:
English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Urza's Destiny (Rare)

Languages:
German Geisterbeschwörer-Lehrling
French Apprenti nécromancien
Italian Apprendista Necromante
Spanish Nigromante aprendiz
Portuguese Aprendiz de Necromante
Japanese ネクロマンサーの弟子


all prints in all languages

Apprentice Sorcerer Apprentice Sorcerer English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/1, 2U (3)

{T}: Apprentice Sorcerer deals 1 damage to target creature or player. Activate this ability only during your turn, before attackers are declared.

Illus. Christopher Rush

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2013: If a turn has multiple combat phases, the ability can only be activated before the beginning of the declare attackers step of the first combat phase in that turn.
Printings:
#32 (Christopher Rush)

Editions:
English Portal Second Age (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Magiergeselle
French Apprenti ensorceleur
Italian Stregone Novizio
Spanish Hechicero aprendiz
Portuguese [missing]


all prints in all languages

Apprentice Wizard Apprentice Wizard English

Creature — Human Wizard 0/1, 1UU (3)

{U}, {T}: Add {C}{C}{C} to your mana pool.

Illus. Dan Frazier

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#61 (Dan Frazier)

Editions:
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English The Dark (Rare (U1))
English MTGO Masters Edition (Common)

Languages:
German Zauberlehrling
French Apprenti sorcier
Italian Apprendista Stregone
Spanish Aprendiz de brujo
Portuguese Aprendiz de Mago


all prints in all languages

Arbiter of Knollridge Arbiter of Knollridge English

Creature — Giant Wizard 5/5, 6W (7)

Vigilance

When Arbiter of Knollridge enters the battlefield, each player's life total becomes the highest life total among all players.

Though giants are mortal, they live so long and on such a grand scale that many small folk don't believe they ever truly die.

Illus. Brandon Dorman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2007: Abilities that trigger when a player gains life may trigger as a result of this ability.
  • 10/1/2007: In other multiplayer formats, each player’s life total is set to the highest life total within his or her range of influence. These changes happen at the same time. For example, if each player has a range of influence of one, and the players in the game are Alice (4 life), Barry (8 life), Carrie (11 life), and Doug (7 life), in that order, then Alice’s life total will become 8 and Barry and Doug’s life totals will each become 11.
  • 6/15/2010: In a Two-Headed Giant game, each team chooses one person on that team to gain the appropriate amount of life. This basically means that the triggered ability will set the life total of each team to that of the team with the highest life total.
Printings:
#59 (Brandon Dorman)

Editions:
English Commander 2015 (Rare)
English Commander (Rare)
English Lorwyn (Rare)

Languages:
German Schiedsmann vom Hügelrücken
French Arbitre de Tertrecime
Italian Arbitro di Poggio Cresta
Spanish Árbitro de Cerroloma
Portuguese Árbitro da Cordilheira Redonda
Japanese ノールリッジの裁き人
Simplified Chinese 丘脊仲裁者
Russian Судья Верхогорья
Traditional Chinese 丘脊仲裁者


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 621-624 ] 624 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.