[ 1-3 ] 3 cards

Tamiyo's Journal Tamiyo's Journal English

Legendary Artifact, 5 (5)

At the beginning of your upkeep, investigate. (Create a colorless Clue artifact token with "{2}, Sacrifice this artifact: Draw a card.")

{T}, Sacrifice three Clues: Search your library for a card and put that card into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

'Entry 434: There's more to Avacyn's madness . . .'

Illus. Chase Stone

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/8/2016: The token is named Clue and has the artifact subtype Clue. Clue isn't a creature type.
  • 4/8/2016: The tokens are normal artifacts. For example, they can be sacrificed to cast Angelic Purge or targeted by Root Out.
  • 4/8/2016: If you sacrifice a Clue for another card's cost or effect, such as that of Angelic Purge or Tamiyo's Journal, you can't also pay {2} and sacrifice it to draw a card.
Printings:
#265a (Chase Stone)
#265b (Chase Stone)
#265c (Chase Stone)
#265d (Chase Stone)
#265e (Chase Stone)
#265f (Chase Stone)

Editions:
English Shadows over Innistrad (Rare)

Languages:
German Tamiyos Aufzeichnungen
French Journal de Tamiyo
Italian Diario di Tamiyo
Spanish Diario de Tamiyo
Portuguese Diário de Tamiyo
Japanese タミヨウの日誌
Simplified Chinese 多美代的札记
Russian Дневник Тамиё
Traditional Chinese 多美代的札記
Korean 타미요의 일지


all prints in all languages

Tamiyo, Field Researcher Tamiyo, Field Researcher English

Legendary Planeswalker — Tamiyo (Loyalty: 4), 1WUG (4)

+1: Choose up to two target creatures. Until your next turn, whenever either of those creatures deals combat damage, you draw a card.

−2: Tap up to two target nonland permanents. They don't untap during their controller's next untap step.

−7: Draw three cards. You get an emblem with "You may cast spells from your hand without paying their mana costs."

Illus. Tianhua X

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/13/2016: Tamiyo's first ability can target creatures you don't control. You'll draw a card, not their controller, if they deal combat damage.
  • 7/13/2016: Tamiyo's first ability sets up a delayed triggered ability that triggers even if Tamiyo has left the battlefield before those creatures deal combat damage.
  • 7/13/2016: You must follow the normal timing permissions and restrictions of each nonland card you cast once you get Tamiyo's emblem.
  • 7/13/2016: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can't pay any alternative costs such as emerge costs. You can pay additional costs such as escalate costs. If the card has mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.
  • 7/13/2016: If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
  • 7/13/2016: You may still cast nonland cards by paying their mana costs as normal.
  • 8/23/2016: If Tamiyo's first ability targets two creatures, and both deal combat damage at the same time, the delayed triggered ability triggers twice.
Printings:
#190 (Tianhua X)

Editions:
English Eldritch Moon (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Tamiyo, Feldforscherin
French Tamiyo, chercheuse sur le terrain
Italian Tamiyo, Ricercatrice sul Campo
Spanish Tamiyo, exploradora de campo
Portuguese Tamiyo, Pesquisadora de Campo
Japanese 実地研究者、タミヨウ
Simplified Chinese 勘验学者多美代
Russian Тамиё, Полевая Изыскательница
Traditional Chinese 勘驗學者多美代
Korean 공간을 연구하는 타미요


all prints in all languages

Tamiyo, the Moon Sage Tamiyo, the Moon Sage English

Legendary Planeswalker — Tamiyo (Loyalty: 4), 3UU (5)

+1: Tap target permanent. It doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.

−2: Draw a card for each tapped creature target player controls.

−8: You get an emblem with "You have no maximum hand size" and "Whenever a card is put into your graveyard from anywhere, you may return it to your hand."

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: Tamiyo's first ability tracks the permanent, but not its controller. If the permanent changes controllers before its first controller's next untap step has come around, then it won't untap during its new controller's next untap step.
  • 5/1/2012: The number of tapped creatures the player controls is determined when Tamiyo's second ability resolves.
  • 5/1/2012: Tamiyo's third ability creates one emblem with two abilities.
  • 5/1/2012: If you activate Tamiyo's third ability when she has eight loyalty counters on her, she'll be put into your graveyard before the emblem is created. She won't return to your hand.
  • 5/1/2012: Cards that are put into your graveyard can be returned to your hand by the emblem's ability even if they were never in your hand.
  • 7/1/2013: The ability can target a tapped permanent. If the targeted permanent is already tapped when it resolves, that permanent just remains tapped and doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.
Printings:
#79 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Tamiyo die Mondweise
French Tamiyo, le sage de la lune
Italian Tamiyo, Saggia della Luna
Spanish Tamiyo, la Sabia de la Luna
Portuguese Tamiyo, a Sábia da Lua
Japanese 月の賢者タミヨウ
Simplified Chinese 月智者多美代
Russian Тамиё, Знаток Луны
Traditional Chinese 月智者多美代
Korean 달의 현자 타미요


all prints in all languages

[ 1-3 ] 3 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.