Sudden Demise Archenemy: Nicol Bolas Volcanic Geyser

Torchling Torchling English

Creature — Shapeshifter 3/3, 3RR (5)

{R}: Untap Torchling.

{R}: Target creature blocks Torchling this turn if able.

{R}: Change the target of target spell that targets only Torchling.

{1}: Torchling gets +1/-1 until end of turn.

{1}: Torchling gets -1/+1 until end of turn.

Illus. rk post

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2007: When the third ability resolves, you must change the target if able. If you can't choose a legal target for the spell when this ability resolves, that spell's target doesn't change.
  • 2/1/2007: If a spell targets multiple things, you can't target it with Torchling's third ability, even if all but one of those targets has become illegal.
  • 2/1/2007: If a spell has multiple targets, but it's targeting Torchling with all of them (such as Seeds of Strength targeting Torchling three times), you can target that spell with Torchling's third ability. In that case, you change all of those targets to the same new target, as long as it meets each of the spell's targeting conditions.
#60 (rk post)

English Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (Rare)
English Duel Decks: Venser vs. Koth (Rare)
English Planar Chaos (Rare)

German Lampling
French Torchelin
Italian Piromorfo
Spanish Antorchoide
Portuguese Tochalídeo
Japanese 炎異種
Simplified Chinese 火灵精怪
Russian Поджига

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Torchling
View Decks with Torchling
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.