Stomper Cub Rise of the Eldrazi Vengevine

Tajuru Preserver Tajuru Preserver English

Creature — Elf Shaman 2/1, 1G (2)

Spells and abilities your opponents control can't cause you to sacrifice permanents.

"No more blood shall be spilled to satisfy another's deluded lust for power."

Illus. rk post

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: As a spell or ability an opponent controls resolves, if it would force you to sacrifice a permanent (as the annihilator ability does), you just don't. That part of the effect does nothing. If that spell or ability gives you the option to sacrifice a permanent (as Prowling Pangolin's ability does), you can't take that option.
  • 6/15/2010: If a spell or ability an opponent controls instructs you to perform an action unless you sacrifice a permanent (as Ogre Marauder does), you can't choose to sacrifice a permanent. You must perform the action. On the other hand, if a spell or ability an opponent controls instructs you to sacrifice a permanent unless you perform an action (as Rishadan Brigand does), you can choose whether or not to perform the action. If you don't perform the action, nothing happens, since you can't sacrifice any permanents.
  • 6/15/2010: You may still sacrifice permanents to pay the costs of spells you cast and abilities you activate, or because a resolving spell or ability you control instructs or allows you to do so. Notably, you may still sacrifice Eldrazi Spawn creature tokens for mana.
  • 6/15/2010: You may sacrifice a permanent to pay the activation cost of an ability, even if that ability comes from a permanent an opponent controls (such as Excavation).
  • 6/15/2010: You may sacrifice a permanent as a special action, even if the effect that allows you to do so comes from an opponent's permanent (such as Damping Engine or Volrath's Curse). No one controls special actions.
  • 6/15/2010: This ability affects only sacrifices. It won't stop a creature from being put into the graveyard due to lethal damage or having 0 toughness, and it won't stop a permanent from being put into the graveyard due to the “legend rule.” None of these are sacrifices; they're the result of game rules.
Printings:
#211 (rk post)

Editions:
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Rare)

Languages:
German Tajuru-Erhalter
French Préservateur de Tajuru
Italian Protettore dei Tajuru
Spanish Preservador de Tajuru
Portuguese Preservador Tajuru
Japanese タジュールの保護者
Simplified Chinese 特裘如存护师
Russian Таджурский Спаситель


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Tajuru Preserver
View Decks with Tajuru Preserver
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.