Centaur Healer Return to Ravnica Collective Blessing

Chemister's Trick Chemister's Trick English

Instant, UR (2)

Target creature you don't control gets -2/-0 until end of turn and attacks this turn if able.

Overload {3}{U}{R} (You may cast this spell for its overload cost. If you do, change its text by replacing all instances of "target" with "each.")

Illus. Christopher Moeller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: If you cast Chemister's Trick with overload, only creatures you don't control that are on the battlefield when Chemister's Trick resolves are affected. Creatures that come under another player's control later in the turn are not.
  • 10/1/2012: The controller of a creature that attacks if able still chooses which player or planeswalker it attacks.
  • 10/1/2012: If, during a player's declare attacker's step, a creature is tapped, is affected by a spell or ability that says it can't attack, or hasn't been under that player's control continuously since the turn began (and doesn't have haste), then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having a creature attack, the player isn't forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.
  • 4/15/2013: If you don't pay the overload cost of a spell, that spell will have a single target. If you pay the overload cost, the spell won't have any targets.
  • 4/15/2013: Because a spell with overload doesn't target when its overload cost is paid, it may affect permanents with hexproof or with protection from the appropriate color.
  • 4/15/2013: Note that if the spell with overload is dealing damage, protection from that spell's color will still prevent that damage.
  • 4/15/2013: Overload doesn't change when you can cast the spell.
  • 4/15/2013: Casting a spell with overload doesn't change that spell's mana cost. You just pay the overload cost instead.
  • 4/15/2013: Effects that cause you to pay more or less for a spell will cause you to pay that much more or less while casting it for its overload cost, too.
  • 4/15/2013: If you are instructed to cast a spell with overload “without paying its mana cost,” you can't choose to pay its overload cost instead.
Printings:
#149 (Christopher Moeller)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Common)

Languages:
German Trick des Chemisters
French Ruse du chimiste
Italian Trucco del Chimimago
Spanish Truco del quimista
Portuguese Truque do Quimiomante
Japanese 薬術師の計略
Simplified Chinese 化学师的诡计
Russian Хитрость Химика
Traditional Chinese 化學師的詭計
Korean 화학술사의 속임수


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Chemister's Trick
View Decks with Chemister's Trick
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.