Mind Twist Revised Edition Nettling Imp

Nether Shadow Nether Shadow English

Creature — Spirit 1/1, BB (2)


At the beginning of your upkeep, if Nether Shadow is in your graveyard with three or more creature cards above it, you may put Nether Shadow onto the battlefield.

Illus. Christopher Rush

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Note that bringing the Shadow back onto the battlefield from the graveyard is not a spell, it is an ability. It can’t be countered with something that counters spells.
  • 10/4/2004: Since it enters the battlefield due to triggering at the beginning of upkeep, it is not possible to get an infinite loop with four Nether Shadows.
  • 10/1/2008: A card is “above” another card in your graveyard if it was put into that graveyard later.
  • 10/1/2008: Players may not rearrange the cards in their graveyards.
  • 10/1/2008: If an effect or rule puts two or more cards into the same graveyard at the same time, the owner of those cards may arrange them in any order.
  • 10/1/2008: The last thing that happens to a resolving instant or sorcery spell is that it’s put into its owner’s graveyard. Example: You cast Wrath of God. All creatures on the battlefield are destroyed. You arrange all the cards put into your graveyard this way in any order you want. The other players in the game do the same to the cards that are put into their graveyards. Then you put Wrath of God into your graveyard, on top of the other cards.
  • 10/1/2008: Say you’re the owner of both a permanent and an Aura that’s attached to it. If both the permanent and the Aura are destroyed at the same time (by Akroma’s Vengeance, for example), you decide the order they’re put into your graveyard. If just the enchanted permanent is destroyed, it’s put into your graveyard first. Then, after state-based actions are checked, the Aura (which is no longer attached to anything) is put into your graveyard on top of it.
#26 (Christopher Rush)

English Fifth Edition (Rare)
English Fourth Edition (Rare)
English Revised Edition (Summer Magic "Edgar") (Rare)
English Revised Edition (Rare)
English International Collectors' Edition (Rare)
English Collector's Edition (Rare)
English Unlimited Edition (Rare)
English Limited Edition Beta (Rare)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Rare)
English MTGO Masters Edition (Uncommon)

German Niederschatten
French Mânes infernaux
Italian Ombra Infernale
Spanish Sombra del submundo
Portuguese Vulto Ínfero

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Nether Shadow
View Decks with Nether Shadow
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.