Stormrider Spirit Shadows over Innistrad Awoken Horror

Thing in the Ice Thing in the Ice English

Creature — Horror 0/4, 1U (2)


Thing in the Ice enters the battlefield with four ice counters on it.

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, remove an ice counter from Thing in the Ice. Then if it has no ice counters on it, transform it.

Illus. Svetlin Velinov

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/8/2016: When Thing in the Ice's triggered ability removes the last counter from it, Awoken Horror's ability will trigger and resolve before the spell that caused Thing in the Ice's last ability to trigger.
  • 4/8/2016: Removing all ice counters from Thing in the Ice some other way will not cause it to transform. You'll need to cast an instant or sorcery spell and cause its last ability to trigger.
  • 7/13/2016: For more information on double-faced cards, see the Shadows over Innistrad mechanics article (
The other part is:
English Awoken Horror

#92a (Svetlin Velinov)

English Shadows over Innistrad (Rare)

German Das Ding im Eis
French Spécimen pris dans la glace
Italian Cosa nel Ghiaccio
Spanish Entidad congelada
Portuguese Coisa no Gelo
Japanese 氷の中の存在
Simplified Chinese 冰封巨物
Russian Тварь во Льду
Traditional Chinese 冰封巨物
Korean 얼음 속 괴수

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Thing in the Ice
View Decks with Thing in the Ice
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.