Grasp of Darkness Scars of Mirrodin Ichor Rats

Hand of the Praetors Hand of the Praetors English

Creature — Zombie 3/2, 3B (4)

Infect (This creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.)

Other creatures you control with infect get +1/+1.

Whenever you cast a creature spell with infect, target player gets a poison counter.

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2011: A player who has ten or more poison counters loses the game. This is a state-based action.
  • 1/1/2011: Infect's effect applies to any damage, not just combat damage.
  • 1/1/2011: The -1/-1 counters remain on the creature indefinitely. They're not removed if the creature regenerates or the turn ends.
  • 1/1/2011: Damage from a source with infect is damage in all respects. If the source with infect also has lifelink, damage dealt by that source also causes its controller to gain that much life. Damage from a source with infect can be prevented or redirected. Abilities that trigger on damage being dealt will trigger if a source with infect deals damage, if appropriate.
  • 1/1/2011: If damage from a source with infect that would be dealt to a player is prevented, that player doesn't get poison counters. If damage from a source with infect that would be dealt to a creature is prevented, that creature doesn't get -1/-1 counters.
  • 1/1/2011: Damage from a source with infect affects planeswalkers normally.
  • 1/1/2011: Whenever you cast a creature spell with infect, Hand of the Praetors's last ability triggers and goes on the stack on top of it. It will resolve before the creature spell does.
  • 1/1/2011: The last ability triggers only if Hand of the Praetors is already on the battlefield at the time you cast a creature spell with infect. Casting Hand of the Praetors itself will not cause its own last ability to trigger.
Printings:
#66 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Scars of Mirrodin (Rare)

Languages:
German Hand der Prätoren
French Main des praetors
Italian Mano dei Pretori
Spanish Mano de los magistrados
Portuguese Mão dos Pretores
Japanese 法務官の手
Simplified Chinese 魔判官手下
Russian Рука Преторов
Traditional Chinese 魔判官手下


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Hand of the Praetors
View Decks with Hand of the Praetors
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.