Winds of Rath Tempest Altar of Dementia

Worthy Cause Worthy Cause English

Instant, W (1)

Buyback {2} (You may pay an additional {2} as you cast this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand as it resolves.)

As an additional cost to cast Worthy Cause, sacrifice a creature.

You gain life equal to the sacrificed creature's toughness.

Illus. John Matson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You must sacrifice exactly one creature to cast this spell; you cannot cast it without sacrificing a creature, and you cannot sacrifice additional creatures.
  • 4/15/2013: Players can only respond once this spell has been cast and all its costs have been paid. No one can try to destroy the creature you sacrificed to prevent you from casting this spell.
#265 (John Matson)

English Tempest (Uncommon)

German Triftiger Grund
French Juste cause
Italian Degna Causa
Spanish Causa noble
Portuguese Causa Justa

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Worthy Cause
View Decks with Worthy Cause
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.