Tolarian Sentinel Time Spiral Truth or Tale

Trickbind Trickbind English

Instant, 1U (2)

Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.)

Counter target activated or triggered ability. If a permanent's ability is countered this way, activated abilities of that permanent can't be activated this turn. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)

Illus. John Zeleznik

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/25/2006: If Trickbind counters an activated ability of a permanent, no activated abilities of that permanent can be activated for the remainder of the turn. This includes activated abilities other than the one that was countered, as well as any mana abilities that permanent may have. Other abilities of that permanent, including triggered abilities and static abilities, are unaffected.
  • 9/25/2006: Trickbind can be used to counter the storm triggered ability. Doing so prevents the copies from being created, but doesn't counter the original storm spell.
  • 9/25/2006: Trickbind can be used to counter the madness triggered ability. The affected card will remain exiled.
  • 9/25/2006: Trickbind can be used to counter the suspend “remove a counter” ability. If so, the counter won't get removed, but the ability will trigger again as normal later on. Trickbind can also be used to counter the suspend “play this card” ability. If so, the card stays exiled (the ability won't trigger again). Using suspend to exile a card in your hand is neither an activated nor a triggered ability, so it can't be countered this way.
  • 9/25/2006: Trickbind can be used to counter the echo triggered ability. If so, the echo ability won't trigger again so the echo cost is never paid.
  • 9/25/2006: Trickbind can be used to counter the flanking triggered ability.
  • 9/25/2006: Trickbind can't counter or prevent paying the morph cost to turn a face-down creature face up, since that action doesn't use the stack.
  • 6/7/2013: Players still get priority while a card with split second is on the stack.
  • 6/7/2013: Split second doesn't prevent players from activating mana abilities.
  • 6/7/2013: Split second doesn't prevent triggered abilities from triggering. If one does, its controller puts it on the stack and chooses targets for it, if any. Those abilities will resolve as normal.
  • 6/7/2013: Split second doesn't prevent players from performing special actions. Notably, players may turn face-down creatures face up while a spell with split second is on the stack.
  • 6/7/2013: Casting a spell with split second won't affect spells and abilities that are already on the stack.
  • 6/7/2013: If the resolution of a triggered ability involves casting a spell, that spell can't be cast if a spell with split second is on the stack.
  • 6/8/2016: Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keywords are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
Printings:
#88 (John Zeleznik)

Editions:
English Time Spiral (Rare)

Languages:
German Fesseltrick
French Trompentrave
Italian Vincolo Ingannevole
Spanish Truco del lazo
Portuguese Magiaprisionar
Japanese 計略縛り
Simplified Chinese 诈缚
Russian Мысленный Трюк


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Trickbind
View Decks with Trickbind
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.