Truth or Tale Time Spiral Viscerid Deepwalker

Vesuvan Shapeshifter Vesuvan Shapeshifter English

Creature — Shapeshifter 0/0, 3UU (5)

As Vesuvan Shapeshifter enters the battlefield or is turned face up, you may choose another creature on the battlefield. If you do, until Vesuvan Shapeshifter is turned face down, it becomes a copy of that creature, except it has "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may turn this creature face down."

Morph {1}{U} (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}. Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

Illus. Quinton Hoover

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/16/2018: Vesuvan Shapeshifter's ability to become a copy is a replacement effect. Because turning a creature face up and applying replacement effects both don't use the stack, players won't be able to take actions between the time you announce that you're turning Vesuvan Shapeshifter face up and the time it has become a copy of the creature of your choice.
  • 3/16/2018: Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies exactly what was printed on the original creature (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.
  • 3/16/2018: If the chosen creature has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
  • 3/16/2018: If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Vesuvan Shapeshifter), then Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies whatever the chosen creature copied.
  • 3/16/2018: If the chosen creature is a token, Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that created the token. Vesuvan Shapeshifter is not a token in this case.
  • 3/16/2018: Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Vesuvan Shapeshifter enters the battlefield. Any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the chosen creature will also work as it enters the battlefield. Similarly, any “[when/as] [this creature] is turned face up” abilities of the chosen creature will work if Vesuvan Shapeshifter is turned face up.
  • 3/16/2018: If Vesuvan Shapeshifter somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Vesuvan Shapeshifter can't become a copy of that creature. You may only choose a creature that's already on the battlefield.
  • 3/16/2018: When Vesuvan Shapeshifter is turned face down, its copy effect wears off. While it's face down, it's a 2/2 face-down Vesuvan Shapeshifter that can be turned face up for a morph cost of {1}{U}.
  • 3/16/2018: If another creature copies Vesuvan Shapeshifter while it's face up and copying another creature, the new creature will become a copy of whatever Vesuvan Shapeshifter is copying and gain the “you may turn this creature face down” ability. It won't gain morph {1}{U}. If that creature is then turned face down, its copy effect will continue and it'll be a face-down version of whatever it's copying. If the creature it's copying has morph, it can be turned face up. If the creature it's copying doesn't have morph, it's stuck face down.
  • 3/16/2018: If Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies a face-down creature, it becomes a face-up 2/2 colorless, nameless creature with no abilities other than the one it gives itself.
Printings:
#90 (Quinton Hoover)

Editions:
English Masters 25 (Rare)
English Time Spiral (Rare)

Languages:
German Vesuvischer Gestaltwandler
French Changeforme vésuvéen
Italian Polimorfo di Vesuva
Spanish Metamorfo vesuvano
Portuguese Metamorfo Vesuviano
Japanese ヴェズーヴァの多相の戦士
Simplified Chinese 维苏瓦变形兽
Russian Везуванский Oборотень


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Vesuvan Shapeshifter
View Decks with Vesuvan Shapeshifter
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.