Vebulid Urza's Saga Vile Requiem

Victimize Victimize English

Sorcery, 2B (3)

Choose two target creature cards in your graveyard. Sacrifice a creature. If you do, return the chosen cards to the battlefield tapped.

The priest cast Xantcha to the ground. "It is defective. We must scrap it."

Illus. Val Mayerik

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/8/2016: You must choose two targets. You can't cast Victimize targeting only one creature card.
  • 6/8/2016: The creature you sacrifice isn't chosen until Victimize resolves. You can't return the creature you sacrifice because it will still be on the battlefield at the time targets are chosen.
  • 6/8/2016: As Victimize resolves, you must sacrifice a creature if able. You can't change your mind and choose not to sacrifice anything.
  • 6/8/2016: If one of the targeted creature cards is an illegal target (for instance, because it has left your graveyard before Victimize resolves), you'll still sacrifice a creature and put the other card onto the battlefield. If both are illegal targets, Victimize will be countered. You won't sacrifice a creature.
  • 6/8/2016: Victimize can be used to put both parts of the B.F.M. onto the battlefield at once.
Printings:
#166 (Val Mayerik)

Editions:
English Commander Anthology (Uncommon)
English Eternal Masters (Uncommon)
English Commander 2015 (Uncommon)
English Commander 2014 Edition (Uncommon)
English Conspiracy (Uncommon)
English Urza's Saga (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ausschlachten
French Brimades
Italian Vessare
Spanish Victimar
Portuguese Vitimar
Japanese 犠牲
Simplified Chinese 生体活祭


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Victimize
View Decks with Victimize
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.