Murasa Pyromancer Zendikar Plated Geopede

Obsidian Fireheart Obsidian Fireheart English

Creature — Elemental 4/4, 1RRR (4)

{1}{R}{R}: Put a blaze counter on target land without a blaze counter on it. For as long as that land has a blaze counter on it, it has "At the beginning of your upkeep, this land deals 1 damage to you." (The land continues to burn after Obsidian Fireheart has left the battlefield.)

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: As the reminder text indicates, whether the targeted land has the triggered ability that's been granted to it depends only on whether it has a blaze counter on it, not on whether Obsidian Fireheart is still on the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2009: The ability gained by the land triggers at the beginning of the upkeep of the land's controller, not the beginning of the upkeep of Obsidian Fireheart's controller. The player who controls the land at the time the ability triggers is the one who's dealt damage.
  • 10/1/2009: A land with a blaze counter on it is an illegal target for this ability. You may activate the ability targeting a land, then activate the ability in response to itself targeting the same land. Although the first ability to resolve will put a blaze counter on that land, the second ability to resolve will be countered.
  • 10/1/2009: If all blaze counters on a land are moved to a different land, the triggered ability doesn't follow them. The first land no longer has the ability because it no longer has a blaze counter on it. The second land doesn't have the ability because Obsidian Fireheart didn't target it.
  • 10/1/2009: If a land ends up with more than one blaze counter on it (thanks to Doubling Season or Gilder Bairn, for example), the ability still only causes it to deal 1 damage to its controller each turn.
Printings:
#140 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (Mythic Rare)
English Zendikar (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Obsidian-Feuerherz
French Cœur de feu d'obsidienne
Italian Cuoreinfuocato di Ossidiana
Spanish Corazón ígneo de obsidiana
Portuguese Alma Avérnea de Obsidiana
Japanese 黒曜石の火心
Simplified Chinese 焰心黑曜妖
Russian Обсидиановый Полыхатель


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Obsidian Fireheart
View Decks with Obsidian Fireheart
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.