Scythe Tiger Zendikar Tajuru Archer

Summoning Trap Summoning Trap English

Instant — Trap, 4GG (6)

If a creature spell you cast this turn was countered by a spell or ability an opponent controlled, you may pay {0} rather than pay Summoning Trap's mana cost.

Look at the top seven cards of your library. You may put a creature card from among them onto the battlefield. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.

Illus. Kieran Yanner

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: You may ignore a Trap's alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
  • 10/1/2009: Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn't change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 10/1/2009: Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 10/1/2009: If there are seven or fewer cards in your library, you'll look at all of them.
#184 (Kieran Yanner)

English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Rare)
English Zendikar (Rare)

German Beschwörungsfalle
French Piège à invocation
Italian Trappola Evocatrice
Spanish Trampa invocadora
Portuguese Armadilha de Convocação
Japanese 召喚の罠
Simplified Chinese 召兽陷阱
Russian Западня Вызова

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Summoning Trap
View Decks with Summoning Trap
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.