Explorer's Scope Zendikar Hedron Scrabbler

Grappling Hook Grappling Hook English

Artifact — Equipment, 4 (4)

Equipped creature has double strike.

Whenever equipped creature attacks, you may have target creature block it this turn if able.

Equip {4}

Part tool, part weapon, part of the kor.

Illus. Philip Straub

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: If you control the triggered ability, you decide whether to have the targeted creature block the attacking creature at the time the ability resolves, not at the time blockers are declared.
  • 10/1/2009: If you choose to have the targeted creature block, the creature it must block is the one that was equipped by Grappling Hook at the time the ability triggered. It doesn't matter if Grappling Hook leaves the battlefield or somehow becomes attached to another creature.
  • 10/1/2009: If you choose to have the targeted creature block the creature that was equipped with Grappling Hook, but it isn't able to do so as blockers are declared (for example, because the attacking creature has flying and the targeted creature doesn't), the requirement to block does nothing. The targeted creature is free to block whichever creature its controller chooses, or block no creatures at all.
  • 10/1/2009: Tapped creatures, creatures that can't block as the result of an effect, creatures with unpaid costs to block (such as those from War Cadence), and creatures that aren't controlled by the defending player are exempt from effects that would require them to block. Such creatures can be targeted by the ability, but the requirement to block does nothing.
Printings:
#203 (Philip Straub)

Editions:
English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Zendikar (Rare)

Languages:
German Enterhaken
French Grappin
Italian Rampino
Spanish Gancho de amarre
Portuguese Arpéu
Japanese 組み合い鉤
Simplified Chinese 爪钩
Russian Захватный Крюк


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Grappling Hook
View Decks with Grappling Hook
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.